For Everyone That's Not A Great Writer.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I've got a few words for you: Embrace the bad, awful writer in you. It's how you get to meet the amazing one.

Set Yourself Free And You'll Grow.

tree

Freedom is the most important ingredient for growth. Nothing in this world can grow to its full potential in a confined environment; not plants, not animals, not ideas!

To become the amazing writer you've always wanted to be, you'll have to break out of your shell and allow your roots grow. Both ways require overcoming some form of resistance.

Breaking Out Of Your Shell

As a seed, you've got the potential to grow into a big, strong tree bearing fruits and providing a cool shade from the harshness of the sun. This is an amazing responsibility; an honor to be of service to people.

A seed will however not become a tree if it doesn't get enough air, moisture, and break itself open. These are steps it needs to take and none can be skipped.

To become the awesome writer, you have to expose yourself to enough air, and moisture; enough to make you decay. You can't be scared of putting out a shitty post on your way to perfecting the craft.

Giving yourself all the freedom you need is a surefire way to stretch yourself and begin to break out of your shell. Write and write about any and everything. Keep writing even when your output is below satisfactory.

Allow Your Roots Grow

Go deep, then spread your wings/tentacles/whatever you've got to spread!

That's how roots work!

When you've given yourself the freedom to grow, you have all the space you need and there are no restrictions or limitations. This doesn't mean you won't encounter obstacles like coagulated soil or stones here and there (or even roots of other people telling you what you can or can't do) but it's part of your responsibility to overcome these obstacles.

Life is not a bed of roses, nothing in life is, and even roses have thorns. So instead of expecting a smooth ride, prepare for bumps.

Growing your roots will involve learning more about a certain subject area. When it comes to improving yourself in a certain field, it's always advisable to learn all you can concerning the subject.

As you learn deeper about writing in general, you branch out into learning about comedy or cryptocurrency or sports. It's the combination of all the areas you've got roots in that defines the growth of your tree.

Do you want to be this massive tree everyone runs to for shade? You'd need to have very deep and widespread roots.



One way i'm planning to grow my roots after breaking out of my shell is joining the PALnet

With PALnet I intend to help out as many people as I can, have fun, while creating lovely relationships along the way. I'll be volunteering to become a greeter which will afford me the opportunity to help out everyone interested.

PALnet has launched the Minnow Support Project backed by @aggroed @ausbitbank and @teamsteem. These folks are amazing and I encourage you to support them and vote for their witnesses.

You can learn more on the @minnowsupport account and also by joining the Discord channel

Once you're in, shoot me your questions and I'll be more than happy to help, along with many others. There are already over 100 folks so it's a growing community. Imagine the relationships you'll get to form...

badge


I'm an advocate for community growth and interaction. My posts are amateur attempts at sounding smart. If you like them, you could upvote, drop a comment, and resteem for your followers. 😉

image source


Sort:  

Nice post, needed this! keep up the good work

Followed / Upvoted =)

I'm glad you found it useful 😊. We all need to put in the work and we'll eventually get the results.

Love the motivational speech. I totally agree with you. I use to be super intimidated to write, but since writing everyday for 4 months straight, I have seen such an improvement in my writing skills. Practice practice practice!

Awesome post there! I like it! I love the badge as well - how did you get that? (was it made by you or for you or can anyone part of @minnowsupport project get it?) Cheers!

This exact one is open to use by anyone part of the minnowsupport project. Check @minnowsupport

But they're made by @elyaque 😊

Great! Btw, do you know how @minnowsupport upvote trail works? I dont think it's working properly for me?

Great advice @fisteganos

By embracing what you consider "bad", you are experimenting with what is quite possibly the most interesting part of your personality: your fears and insecurities.

I always tell people on steemit to not just be unafraid to fail -- be excited to fail! Try to fail. Make posts with the intention of failing.

That sort of mindset is similar to the one you have presented here, and it produces the most fertile soil for creativity to grow.

:)
@shayne

True words! Thanks so much for this 😊

Thank you for being an inspiration for me and the steemians community in general @fisteganos
I really enjoy your posts

Thank you for being there to read it and for the encouraging words 😊.

good advice sir..i need friends like you..if you don't mind. just joined last month.

Of course! I appreciate your respectful tone :)

Inspiring words!

Nice one @fisteganos. I am not a very good writer myself, your advice will be useful to me. Thanks for sharing..

I'm not a very good writer either! We keep learning every day! I'm glad you found it useful 😊

really encouring. great post

great post indeed...sir,i would like to be followed by you,if you don't mind

Steemit is a great place to gain skills in writing. This isn't a community that judges the quality of writing, but rather how much genuine information and heart and soul is put into the piece.

This is so true! There's the freedom to tell your stories the way you want and the more you're allowed to do that, the better you get at crafting these stories.

love your comment dear...following and upvoted...nice

Thank you! I'll follow back;)

Great post,
followed.

Thank you 😊

I have read your post from the beginning until the end. All I can say is you're a good writer. Looking forward for another piece. 😀

Haha! You think so? I think you did an awesome job going through all those words mumbled up. I like to try to sound smart and i'm a big amateur at it.

I'm hoping you'll continue to find value in my posts. 😀

Nice article. Enjoy the resteem!

😊 i'm always happy to help. Thanks for helping too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44