My "Return" to Math

in #writing6 years ago

img src FireAwayMarmot


Let me get one thing out of the way right off the bat - I'm not very good at math. Throughout my school years it was my weakest subject, and since those days my ability in this regard has not exactly improved by leaps and bounds. So if there are any mathematicians out there, I will try to emotionally prepare myself to have my words here ripped soundly to shreds, on the basis of my relative incompetence on the subject at hand.

However I have recently been made aware of certain patterns in mathematics that may have larger implications of a deep philosophical nature, which does appeal to me - and if even this all turns out be a lot of woo woo, then at the very least it has encouraged my right brain thinking self to take a further interest in math as a general field of study. And perhaps by writing this essay I will help others to do the same.

The numbers 6, 3 and 9 seem to correspond in ways that are quite compelling to me, most particularly the number 9. There is a method of applying these numbers where you multiply each number then reduce the answer together down to a single digit - for example,

3x1= 3,
3x2= 6,
3x3= 9,
3x4= 12 followed by 1+2= 3.

So with the fourth equation I reduced to the number twelve down to three by adding the numbers 1 and 2 together. I don't know if there is a particular name for this method of adding numbers together down to a single digit remainder, so I will simply call it Return.

When you apply this method to the number 3 you get a repeating pattern of 3, 6, 9, continuing upwards as long as you multiply and then return the answer down to a single digit.

Apply the method to the number 6 and the pattern 6, 3, 9 emerges.

With the number 9, the method always returns to 9. Always. Here are examples.

9x2=18, 1+8= 9
9x3=27, 2+7= 9
9x23=207, 2+7= 9
9x46=414, 4+1+4= 9
9x351=3159, 3+1+5+9=18, 1+8= 9

What is fascinating here is that this shows a symmetry in math that seems to supersede the basic obvious symmetry indicated in well known math applications. The method of return - adding the numbers together until you get to a single digit - is to my awareness a very unique computation. Or is it in fact common in math to do this?

In any event, when the method of return to a single digit is different (but not opposite) from the method of raising the number, and yet it yields absolutely consistent results, then there is something more going on than first meets the eye. This indicates a structure to math that goes much deeper than any traditional education would have us believe, and does indeed appeal to my philosophical frame of mind.

So do these aspects of mathematics indicate a deeper philosophical or even theological meaning? How can mere numbers possess such a depth of symmetry? It's an interesting subject well worth exploring. The general term for this field of study is Vortex Mathematics, a rather controversial theory whose practical application of the Rodin Coil has been much contested. I think perhaps for now this view of numbers needs more time to develop within the modern mind before such material claims can find a broader application, but of course this is from a layman's perspective. Here is a video I came across recently that examines some of these concepts in interesting detail.

While pondering these questions I thought of the number Seven, often viewed as a lucky number in western culture, as well as considered to be the number of God in it's triple form. So I decided to work out the return from Seven as a pattern of multiplication. The series of numbers I came up with form the basis of a song of mine, titled "Return From Seven", that you can listen to here.


Writing and images by Greg McCann, the author of this post and owner of this Steemit Channel. To view more of my work, please visit www.fireawaymarmot.com.
banner.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by FireAwayMarmot from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68763.18
ETH 3770.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76