You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SILVER LINING #3

in #writing7 years ago

There is nothing but truth in the noxious feeling that arises when scrolling through the feed, seeing a title that catches your eye and their decent reward, opening it up just to find they've plagiarized wikipedia. I flag every time I come across them, but it seems like a waste since it only adds to the number of votes.

Sort:  

Ahh yes, my ranty phase haha! There's quite a few of these in the earlier chapters, so I apologize. I promise you, it gets cheerier, near the middle to the end. I guess it illustrates the kind of year I've had here on Steemit haha!

I get it though. Especially when considering the point of your work wasn't/isn't to line your pocket, but to help with medical expenses of your nephew.

Haha yeah, I really do wish I could've given more though. It's just hard to stomach that effort is wasted on this platform. Just having a whale endorse your cause would automatically net you thousands, but something like this where I poured months of my life is just ignored because it isn't the hip thing.

That is truth or as we say in Louisiana, "True Dat!"

Unless the whale endorse happens, it all comes back to the long game. The crap posts, spam comments, copyright infringing and content thieving are short term thinking. Part of the "hit it and quit it" club.

True Dat! We say that here, too! Haha! It's funny how expressions are similar.

It's still a bit nerve racking though, seeing the uncertainty of STEEM. I do hope that all we are building towards become sustainably, or else we would've been wasting a lot of our precious time.

That's true, too! Since 2004 I've written on/for quite a few platforms. I habitually make copies of my posts now, because I've watched platform after platform get bought out and destroyed by competition. Because if one company can't beat another, it purchases it and then "consumes" it. That's the main reason why I continue to keep my website rolling. It's a place people can come back to that stays even if the sites I've written for disappear. Oh. Just thinking about the dead links.... work for another day.

Oh yeah, that's a good strategy. That's why I hope Steemit is for the long haul, but just in case it isn't I have kept copies of everything I wrote, ready to be posted elsewhere at any moment's notice. I do have a website, too, though, but I've been slacking off in renovating it haha!

That's the smart way to do it... copies and copies and copies. J/K

I hope so too! This platform has so much potential! I'm excited to be here as it develops.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51