The Singular Writing Shop - Tips for Writers

in #writing7 years ago

I like workshops. Not writing workshops but real ones with the circular saw blades on nails and drills and screwdrivers and chisels and shit. I like old coffee cans. Got one beside me right now. It’s an old Folger’s can and it looks great and shines red. I don’t know what’s in it. I think there are some screws and maybe a golf ball or something.

I would think that the best writing shop is probably one out in the country and is made of cement blocks. It’s a place you have to drive or walk to. There’s some straw on a hard dirt floor and a wood stove made out of a barrel. There’s old dolls that someone didn't want to throw away. There might be a rusted lathe on a metal table and some beer that was forgotten up in a cabinet. You can hear horses heerrr ha heeerrr ha herr. Stray dogs and cats come and look at you and make you feel guilty. You write on paper and use a pencil, sharpen the pencils with a knife. Feeding the strays your food gives you power. There’s a Pennzoil sign. Coyotes yap at night.

Now I tell you of a shop that’s more convenient but less advantageous.

I use Google Docs to write. I used to use Open Office but it’s too slow. The feature I like in Docs is the Research tab. I don’t do any research with it. I don’t like researching. But I like it because I can type a word in there and look at a ton of pictures of soft pretzels out the side of my eye while I write.

Other than that, I use Microsoft’s Notepad. I have a key sequence that brings it up. I have hundreds of notes. But I recently discovered Microsoft’s OneNote that is a better way of not making a mess and finding specific notes easy. You can set up different sections within OneNote to keep track of each scene or chapter.

This next method is essential. I would get no writing done without it. And it is simple. A TIMER. You can use any manual timer or something like 1-click-timer for Chrome. Once you begin using this method your productivity will soar like a goshawk. Set it for 25 minutes at a time with a 5 minute break between.

I have other things too that are only important to me. Magic rocks, rooster feathers, paintings of skulls. I’m sure you have those things, too. They give luck.

OH! And I use a notebook that I paid a dollar for at the dollar store. I take it into restaurants and never write there. But I write a lot in it before I go to sleep.

God natt!

Sort:  

Congratulations @fezziwig! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you. God bless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50