What things do your favorite writers do that you've tried to learn and maybe emulate?

in #writing6 years ago

Ama be listing a few of mine

brand-sucks.jpg

I love Patterson’s sentence structure and flow. I love Koontz’s ability to twist and hold suspense. I love the ease that Laurien Berenson weaves a tale. I love the way a dear friend and soon to be published author can find humor in every aspect of life without forcing it. I love the way another friend can turn a phrase so easily that her descriptions flow. Creative prose. I am a minimalist at heart, so my descriptions are short. While effective, I wish I had a touch of the extra!
.
I also write concisely and strive to flesh out sentences and paragraphs. Steinbeck fascinates me.
.
Establishment of tone through the 5 elements, using the conceit to the best of my ability, maintaining a consistent voice, experimentation with multiple POVs in one story are a few I’ve learned to incorporate successfully in my works.
.
As an addendum to the OP what author did you pick up what from. For example, Vonnegut taught me a lot about creating concise sentences, and L'amour about not overdoing action
.
Vivid imagery. I love painting pictures with words.
.
And I love using the hyphen like Arthur C. Clarke
.
Hit Amazon top ten and stay there. My books are in 6 million rankings within a week of release and stay there owing to me not having a spare few grand for promo
.
Multiple subplots laid into the book seemlessly, and then they all come together at the end.
.
The way they start an awesome story that keeps the reader engaged from the very first sentence. And there are more. :)

Sort:  

I followed and up votes you. please up votes and followback @huanmv

awwn, okay, i will !

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Thanks for using the girlsfoundation tag as one of your tags. Don't forget to follow @girlsfoundation.
you can also support the girlsfoundation by following our curation trail using steemauto

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40