I WILL COOK BOOKS FOR DINNER IN 2018

in #writing7 years ago

IMG-20171229-WA0005.jpg

Growing up for me was a little extra different from most of the kids in the area. I felt a strong sense of loneliness and did most of my activities in isolation(this was aside school related activities). My dad was in the Army, and was away for most the year – working in a completely paralleled state from where we lived. My mum on the other hand was a full-time nurse, who worked odd shifts – afternoon and nights especially.

So I had to learn to live and learn things from books. I remember my Tennis and Athletics career started by reading books on physical education, and kids at the stadium will mock me that I played tennis "inu ìwè"(by the book tennis), but I wasn't deterred. I also remember that because I attended a boys only senior secondary school, it was difficult associating freely with the opposite gender. I was a shy person – for most of my teenage years – and wouldn't even seek help from friends whom I knew will take enough time to make me a laughing stock. Books had to come to my aid.

All these being said, it is helpful to know that books aren't just tools for learning – as generally perceived. They are companions in which we can confide, while being sure our secrets are safe. Books also serve as highways to travel into the mind of other men – the authors in particular. This way, we can understand how they think, what they feel and why they act the way they do.

I'm imploring each and everyone to key into the idea of making a habit out of reading just like we do eating. It will propel us to harness the motivation and inspiration locked within us, as we aim for greater successes and achievements. Read a book: and you relieve stress, hear your inner voice, travel the world in a spot; and enjoy the humour hidden in those words while also learning hard lessons the easy way.

I am Femi Ojutiku, and I will #ReadIn2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57320.16
ETH 2472.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31