🔸 Selecting Incorrect Tags on Steemit Posts 🔸 Steemit Community Doesnt Like it + less upvotes 💬 Thoughts because it can't be edited

in #writing7 years ago

datarank.png

Sometimes it's difficult to select the correct tags for a post. Maybe you select them too fast or maybe you do not select the correct ones, either option, there is no way to edit this from Steemit and your post will be incorrectly categorized. Even worse, the community might penalize you and downvote your post or just omit it in general so it stays in $0.

For example I just posted this new post in my blog and I incorrectly selected the 'upvote' category. I believe this post will not make much even if it is a good content because the main category tag is not the correct one or optimized (or related to the content). I think I made a mistake on that one and it is shame because I really like the content and it's good.

In general I am trying to say that you have to put a lot of thought into the tags you select because the Steemit site notices this and also the community (isn't the same?).

Steemit allows you to select up to 5 tags. Most of the times we think about using all 5 tags - always. This might be wrong, should we use less tags in the event that we cannot associate the content with 5 tags? I mean, if I think the content is better with just 3 should I leave it with 3 and avoid using none-sense tags to basically spam? I think yes. It is something I will think about and I will see what to do. Not sure yet.

Or maybe it would be better to start using 'new' tags and creating new ones? multiple words or unpopular tags related to the content?

Going back to my previous post, I think I made a big mistake of using the first tag 'upvote'. I will avoid doing this, it sucks.

Sort:  

useful info, great to now you

thanks @mrday ! following you now :)

I might be wrong but I think it's only the first tag that can't be modified, the other four can be changed.

hey @gduran thanks, you are %100 correct. I just tried it and edited the last tags of my previous post and removed one and changed it. Thanks.
Yeah, it's only the first tag that you cannot modify, if you look at the post URL, it will put the first tag in the URL to clasify the post and I believe it is because of this that it cannot be changed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66