Poetry night with @famouzqueen...( The crow, The rivals)

in #writing7 years ago

It's peotry night again with your favorite girl @famouzqueen. #poetrynight is where you get to read your favorite stories and poems. Poetry has really helped in human existence to pass stories between generations. I do this every night to help you forget such an hectic day you got, give you something to while away time while relaxing. So please lay back and enjoy this lovely poems tonight.

Our poem for the night

  1. THE CROW

  2. THE RIVALS

THE CROW

'I am proud of my colour,' said Aggrey the african; and so say wise men of every race, whatever their colour; but the crow in this poem was not very wise.

I feel a disgrace
(Said the Crow to my race,
Always to be wearing this dirty old face;
I'll wash off the black
From my wings and mt back;
I'll scrub me, and rub me,
And cold-water-tub me;
And then we will see
What Birdie dare snub me.

He tubbed him, and rubbed him,
And earnestly scrubbed him
He fluttered and spluttered
He stuttered and muttered
You ne're saw such splashing
As in he went dashing,
Sometimes tailwards instead first.

He soaped both his wings
And his legs (funny things)
And then---well ! I never
Was coal-black as ever.

'T was foolish, one knows,
Of the Crow to suppose
Though washed day and night
He could ever be white
From the tip of his beak to the end of his toes.
Black, white, or what not,
So long as we're seen
I'm sure does not matter one little or jot
Not one tiny tittle, or one little jot.

A 'tittle' and a 'jot' are hebrew marks, which we read about in the Bible. We might give the meaning of the last line by saying 'Not one little comma or one tiny dot.'

THE RIVALS

I heard a bird at dawn
Singing sweetly on a tree
That the dew was on the lawn
And the wind was on the lea;
But i didn't listen to him,
For he didn't sing to me!

I didn't listen to him,
For he didn't sing to me
That the dew was on the lawn
And the wind was on the lea;
I was singing at the time
Just as prettily as he !

I was singing all the time
Just as prettily as he
About the dew upon the lawn
And the wind upon the lea;
So i didn't listen to him,
As he sang upon a tree !

Can you hear in this poem the same sounds coming back again and again, as do the notes in a bird's song? A 'lea' is a poetical word for a field.

And that's all i have for you guys today.....I hope you enjoyed it. !!

Sort:  

wow..its wonderful.so much meanings can be read.

Your post has been resteemed to my 3000 followers

Resteem a post for free here

Power Resteem Service - The powerhouse for free resteems, paid resteems, random resteems

Upvote this comment if you like this service

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57694.11
ETH 2446.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38