Feel Like You’ve Hit a Wall in Your Freelance Writing Career? Here’s How to Keep a Positive Outlook!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Feel Like You've Hit a Wall in Your Freelance Writing Career Here's How to Keep a Positive Outlook-mona-eendra-208388-unsplash.jpg
Image Source: Unsplash User: Mona Eendra

As a freelance writer, it can be easy to feel like a “small fish in a big pond.” After all, there’s competition, picky clients, low-pay-for-lots-of-work gigs, etc., right? I’d be lying if I said that the freelance writing world isn’t fraught with difficulty, but aren’t most careers?

It’s easy enough to brood over the complexities of keeping a freelance writing career going – especially when jobs are few and bills are many. However, focusing on the bad is a far too logical response. It’s time to be more daring: it’s time to think positively! After all, focusing on the negative does nothing except put you in a bad mood, which is not a place to write from when opportunities do come along!

Read on for some ways to change your outlook when facing some of the most common freelance writing career roadblocks…

There’s just no (worthwhile) work.

In my many years of freelancing, this is the one that I can relate to the most. There is, in fact, always something to write, somewhere, but if you avidly search the usual freelance writing job boards, it can be disheartening sometimes. A couple of dollars for a full article? Ridiculous, to say the least.

Yet, many freelance writers, regardless of their experience, will still sludge through this sort of work until something better comes along. Choose your projects wisely, and if you must write for less…

Positive outlook solution: “This is great character builder; it teaches me to really focus on writing quality content at an efficient speed. Every little bit of income counts, and every word I write is one step closer to newer and better-paying jobs!”

Not enough experience.

If you’re a freelance writer who’s just getting started, it’s understandable that you want to write your way to financial success as quickly as possible. However, the reality is that it takes time to build a reputation, clientele, and income. Equally frustrating is that niche popularity isn’t something that can necessarily be predicted. Finance and technology, however, tend to remain constantly popular, but you’ll have to educate yourself (or even take courses) regularly to stay in the game.

Positive outlook solution: “Even if I don’t know a lot about popular niche topics, I’m willing to learn, and I’ll get to apply that knowledge not just to my work, but to my life! Plus, I’ll be a great addition to any trivia team! The more I write, the more experience I’ll earn, and the more opportunities I’ll have!”

Lots of experience, and on the brink of burnout.

It doesn’t matter how much of a power writer you’ve been, there comes a time, in each writer’s life, where there are too many words and not enough time to rest. Mental and physical health should be a priority at all times – without that, lots of things falter, not to mention your work = writer’s block = loss of productivity = loss of income.

Positive outlook solution: I know I can get tired sometimes, and I’ll take breaks accordingly. I will mindfully rest so that I can rejuvenate and be my most productive both professionally, and personally.

All or some of the above, and considering a career change.

There comes a time in each freelance writer’s life where they must make a decision as to whether they want to pursue writing more as a hobby going forward. Does this resonate with you? Perhaps it’s because the niche/s you’re most passionate about aren’t the most marketable. Or, maybe you’ve accomplished all that you set out to do in freelance writing, and it’s time to diversify.

Positive outlook: “I’ve learned so much from my freelance writing journey, but now it’s time to move on and learn from other freelancing opportunities, because work (and life) should be an adventure!”

Content source: my own blog - please click the image below for the link!
PostSourceImage.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72