Stop Wasting Your Time on 'how to write my novel' books—these 3 all you need

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I've read quite a few books for writers in my lifetime. I have to say, most were not very helpful.. but there were a few that were not only helpful in my writing but other areas of my creative life. I thought I'd share a short summary of my favorite books for writers.

The War Of Art - Steven Pressfield

You might know of Steven Pressfield, you might even be a fan of his books. I had never read his work before purchasing 'The War Of Art'. I went out and bought all of his books on kindle afterward, to my surprise, he is the real deal. Wonderful work.

Why would I say, 'to my surprise'?
Because, I sometimes find that people that write 'how to write' books, or really 'how to do anything' often times—surprisingly—are not very inspiring writers (or at what they 'do'). While reading a 'writing/novel education' book, I find myself acquiring one of the author's original 'novels', rarely am I impressed. I may love their 'how to book' but not their work. but, not with Steven Pressfield; I was impressed with his war of art series and more so with his novels. He stands behind this work with masterfully written compelling books.

I have to start with this one because it is still among my top go-to books when I need inspiration. I kid you not, I think I've read this 5-6 times just in the last three years. Steven Pressfield has become my personal creative coach. I've shared this book with my wife, who is an artist and several other people, and it had the same effect on all.

It's a powerful creative/writing motivator. Pressfield not only lays out some real phycological tools in the 'war of art,' that surely any writer at any stage could put to good use, but he also digs down deep into the bones of the writing life, and the resistance we face. The audiobook is also a great production.

At the same time I recommend this, I also recommend the other books that are in this series.

This little book Is meant for use during a project. A campaign on any creative project, especially, but not limited to, writing. Use it as your pocket coach through your next novel.

I have read this one about 5 times also.. but it has been some years now. I can not remember the content off hand. But, I do remember really enjoying it and gaining much help in my creative life from it... that's why I kept reading it. Despite the title, you don't have to be planning to be 'Turning Pro' to reap the gems of wisdom from this book.


On Writing - Stephen King

There is now a 10th anniversary of this book.. so it's been around awhile! I'm sure if you're a writer you've read it, or heard so much about it that you feel you have.

If you have read it.. read it again. This is another one that I keep going back to. I seem to gain more insight each read. The main thing this book did for me was to give some much needed confidence. I wrote my first 'finished' novel after reading it. I had only been planing to write a novel for ...um, forever.


Writing Popular Fiction - Dean R.. Koontz

This one goes way back with me. I'm not even sure it can be found in digital. A Search yielded these books selling for around $100. Hmmm.. maybe I should sell my copy.. hell no. It's a great book. Search around you'll find it somewhere.

This was one of my very first 'how to write fiction' books. I picked it up in a library when I worked at a college years ago. It was so simple. I was used to writer's books being very dense and hard to follow. I was very young. This broke it down 'Barney style' if you know what I mean.

It almost seems too simple to be of very much help but that's what is so deceptive about 'how to write' books.. .it really IS a simple process you need to learn. The big heavy stuff is actually doing the work. Dean Koontz really nails it on what you need to know. Some of it is a little dated, but not enough to get in the way of its helpfulness. It's worth finding, especially if you are new to writing novels. (but I probably would not spend $100!!)


I'm @ezravan a writer, musician, and artist based in Dallas Texas. Hope you enjoyed and it helps ya out. Let me know what you think. Thanks for the RESTEEMS, Upvotes, and comments..


Barney style gif | popular fiction image | war of art | turning pro | Do The Work | on writing meme Writing popular fiction | koontz image 1

Sort:  

This has got to be the 6 or 7th time I've seen the war of art recommend in last few weeks. Haven't read it yet but it's next. Nice list of recommendation though.

it's a sign! it really is a good one..blow your head off with good stuff. let me know how it goes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55