You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mistress of Magic: Morgan's First Apprentice - Chapter 2 - Reunion in the Palace

in #writing7 years ago

To an average woman that question would be embarrassing and intrusive, but to Sisters of the Order sex held different meaning.

Should that be "held a different meaning"? Or "holds a different meaning" I ask because I don't know. My question is the lack of indefinite article, I can't tell if there should be on there or not.

Also, nice story. I'll be following for more.

Sort:  

I don't know either. It's why I have the spectacular editors of @isleofwrite . If they say it's okay, it's okay. English is not my first language, so I need all the editing help I can get.

Thank you for your comment!

I hesitated over that one (I'm an Isle of Write editor)
I'm a fan of dumping a, and, the, and stuff, whenever possible, and lately I've been reading way more poetry than usual.
The guidebook: If readers trip over it, maybe you should add the indefinite article to make it definitive. :)

Ok, I've decided: either it held different meanings, or it held a different meaning.
But "held different meaning" does sound unorthodox.
Good call, @evilist-fiend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51