Back to School

in #writing6 years ago

FDCDED5E-BE27-4638-AA51-2B22868B3249.jpeg

Hi, my name is Eve and I don’t know how to write.



I am ashamed to admit that I’m absolutely rubbish at writing by hand.

Me, a person who appreaciates and adores all sorts of handcrafts, and who can knit a damn fine pair of wool socks or mittens and in general is good with her hands, can hardly even write my own damn name with a pen on paper. My handwriting is so shit that it looks like a 7-year-old boy wrote it, no offence to any who are actual 7-year-old boys, but you know what I mean. It is not pretty.

A few weeks ago an adult male friend of mine showed some of his notes to me and I could not believe how pretty his handwriting was. It was proper beautiful cursive and I was so jealous of his writing skills. I decided I want to do something about my own handwriting.

I hardly ever write by hand, but when I do, I’d want it to look even half decent and feminine. First I didn’t even know how I would go about learning cursive, but I remembered back in first and second grade we has these notebooks that would help us learn to write by first mimicing the letter that was printed on the page with a light grey colour, and then you would go on repeating it for several pages. I didn’t think those are widely available anywhere so I put the idea on a backburner for a while.

Yesterday I got a very special gift from a very special teacher, who I jokingly mentioned to needing some help with learning to write. I got a notebook with lines to help me learn cursive, the very same kind we used to have 20 years ago, and copies of practise pages from a cursive notebook. So now I have something to start with.

Today I picked up a pencil and started learning. Dear lord it is HARD! I think there is a wire missing, tangled or loose between my brain and hand, because my hand does not do what I want it to. There is next to none hand-eye coordination and my hand is cramping when I try to force it to write pretty letters. I really feel like I’m holding a pencil for the first time in my life when trying to mimic the wavy letters on my practise sheets.

Wish me luck and pray for my patience as I try to learn a skill that I was never good at even in school.

Ps. I hope I don’t get send to detention any time soon.

Sort:  

My handwriting has always been terrible. Back when it was something that was actually graded (in 2nd grade maybe?), I could do no better than a C. As soon as cursive wasn't required, I went back to printing (which isn't all that much better). Thank God I learned to type. I still think that one semester long keyboarding class I had in high school was one of the most useful classes I ever took.

I still write in a journal occasionally but even when I do that, I don't use cursive. Other than signing my name (which mostly looks like scribble anyway), I have to think pretty hard to be able to write in cursive at all. While I would like to have better handwriting, I don't think I want it bad enough to devote a lot of time to it :).

Yeah mine was bad too. Now it is only worse. I think the only D’s i evr made in school were in handwriting...and conduct!

The one regret i have is that inever learned to type. So that is also crap. I love dictation software. Probably need to use it more often :-0

Lol I was always told my signture looks like someone who was having a stroke and that i write too small

Same same. There is maybe like two letters that are right and somewhat recognisable.

Back to first grade :D

Reminds me that maybe I should do more calligraphy 🤔

Oh yeah you have been doing that, I remember seeing a post about it! It was real pretty!

If you were shit at writing at school you'll never be any good now!

What a fun way to pass the time :)

I forget if you are left-handed or not?

I'm a lefty, my writing was awful, still is, and I do not give a shit :D

Enjoy!

Thank you for the encouragement 😅 you are a true friend! I’m right handed so I don’t even have that excuse.

My pleasure :D

Awesome you’re doing this and sharing it. Inspired me to work on my signature, because that sucks to🙈 can’t sign the papers at my sister her wedding with my current signature... as a maid of honour you need a signature classic and with style 😎thanks🤙

Posted using Partiko iOS

You, maid of honour?

Mine sucks too, my mother just laughed at my signature the other day when she saw it :(

Wrong translation in my head🙈 something with a movietitle i assume...😇 the witness of course😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

English hard!

And regarding the signature she serious laughed about it!?😔

Did tou tell her about your plan to learn yourself some pretty handwriting?

Posted using Partiko iOS

She is honest and I don’t mind one bit, it is ugly so I can’t argue with that 😅 I don’t think I told her yet, maybe I’ll learn to write a pretty signature first to show her.

Hahaha, this is hilarious. My handwriting went to shit shortly after i got my first computer and cell phone. A lot things went to shit after that too. Most of the things mentioned in your previous post.
Or? maybe i'm just old and it would've anyway?

I am pretty old school regarding a lot of things so I’m right there with you.

Let’s disregard the fact that I have to most millennial ”job” one can have...

Hi, my name is Eve and I don’t know how to write.

Hi, My name is cornerstone and I'm an alcoholic. Wait...
I think I'm in the wrong room. 😯
But hey, If you learn to write, I'll buy you a drink! 🤣

Maybe if we make it a joined group, get drunk and learn how to write, would be so much more fun. Oh wait, you are not supposed to drink in an AA meeting are you?

Well, never found AA so, I'm down!
You bring the pens, I'll bring the drinks. 🖊✏🍹🥂

I have the handwriting quality of a doctor. You know, the scribble that somehow must be translated to a prescription. Yeah, that bad. Most of the time I cannot even read what I wrote.

It is the keyboard for me. That is all.

Reading your own grocery lists is so much when you have no idea what you were planning on buying :D

Did you know that in China you actually have people that their whole job is to paint Chinese letters? Weird right... My handwriting is also really awful, but I think it's mostly because my brain is faster than how fast I write, and when I'm writing I'm already thinking 3 or 4 words ahead...

I've seen those on the inter webs, they take it really seriously and it's beautiful!

Perseverance gives results. Keep practicing, you will achieve what you proposed. For my mother, writing well was always important, so from a very young age she made me practice with those books. I used them for years, my hand hurt every time, but in the end my writing improved.

Be glad that was required from you, my mom didn't really care what my handwriting looked, it was more about what I write. A good metaphor right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63931.86
ETH 2639.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83