You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can great stories be written badly?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

It doesn't matter if the story is badly or well written, or if the story is basic or out-of-this world. It depends on how the reader perceives it and feels about it. Sometimes, I get stoked when somebody recommends me a book that he or she loved. But when I read it, I don't feel the "spark" he/she felt. So I guess it all boils down to the interest you have for the book, and all follows.

Sort:  

This has happened to me! But I don't criticise the reader or the writer most of the time. It's just a matter of tastes. I can like what I can like and I have no say in those matters, although I can slightly train myself to appreciate certain things a bit more.

Indeed, the author is out of the picture. Authors can have really good books, and one or a few not so good. But it's your perspective, because some might like the books you don't, and don't like the books you do. So to say a book is "good" is usually a subjective matter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62435.23
ETH 3369.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45