TEOTWAWKI (An Original Novel - Episode 96)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing8 years ago




Cloud, Silver Lining, Some Assembly required


Shelby had a satisfied look on his face during most of Elvira’s little talk. Toward the end he begin to look a little grim if not alarmed.

“Thank YOU Elvira, and all the Daemons. If it hadn’t been for you I definitely wouldn’t be here. To continue with our bringing everyone up to date about what got us into this situation I’ll continue.

(ahem)


Shelby

Some time later Chad, the two Daemons and I found ourselves in my workshop. It seems that, by being the Maggi, we were assuming a lot of responsibility. The Dragon Lady’s job was that of the Alpha, ours was that of fixer. We were falling into the roll of research and development of various programs intended to benefit the community. It happened so gradually that we didn’t realize what was happening to us until it was a done deal. No one complained, in fact we were encouraged so we continued. I still say we were DRAFTED but I shouldn’t complain. It’s really fun being a wizard.

“So what exactly have you got in mind?” I asked.

“Two things off hand, for food.” Chad said, he’d called the little impromptu meeting. “Aquaponics for one. That should be easy enough.”

“Yeah. “ I agreed “I’ve read a bunch about Aquaponics. I don’t see a problem there. We have the technology.”

Chad grinned. He’d seen that TV show also, on NetFlick.

“So what’s the other idea?” I persisted.

“CHON“ Chad replied.

“Huh?” I reparteed brilliantly.

“Carbon Hydrogen Oxygen and Nitrogen,” Chad explained, “makes up 96% of our body. The only other things needed are a few trace elements. The best part is that CHON is in the air.”

“Well yeah,” I said, “you got a point. We could use the blood-nanites to make a machine to suck it right out of the air and make food direct. In fact that’s what plants do. How hard could it be?”

“Pretty hard.” Elvira said.

“Yes,” Akatsuki chimed in, “ I’m sure we can do it but it’s not trivial.”

“Not trivial at all. It is going to be a challenge,” Elvira agreed with her fellow daemon. “Perhaps we’d best concentrate on Aquaponics first? Easy first, hard later?”

“We can do that, pick the low-hanging fruit first while we’re designing ladders to get to the higher up stuff?” I agreed. “File CHON generators next to NStat Fusors. We’ll get to it one day.”

“Huh?” Chad said. “What that what you said? EnWhat?”

“The full name is Non-Statistical Fusion Reactions in Atomic Scale Accelerators. I read a paper on it once.” I replied.

“I see why you call it NStat.” Chad observed.”That’s quite a mouthful.”

“There’s similar SoulStone Tech in the Forges and the SSmoke. Lookit up someday when you have nothing else you want to do. It’s fascinating. I’ve been working on it in my spare time off and on. I haven’t figured a way to reverse engineer it yet.“ I told him.

“But right now we figure out how to make ‘ponics’ work?” Chad asked?

“Correct.” I agreed. “Elvira and I will research the SoulStone for cross-over tech, you and Akatsuki research the internet and see what you can come up with. We’ll both see what we can find then combine the best parts of both and see if we can make something work.”

(some time later.)

“You know?” Chad said “There’s an old saying.”

“Yeah?” I said. “Go on.”

If you have one problem you have a problem. But if you have more than one problem you have an opportunity to have your problems solve each other.” He said.

“Seems I heard that myself somewhere. It sounds about right”. I said, “What have you got in mind?”

Tier One of the Maslow Hierarchy is physiological. That includes clean air and water, food, sanitation, Why not play them off against each other?” he said. “For example. FishFood. We need FishFood to make Aquaponics work. Why not grow our own?”

Chad continued, “We have all that sewage just sitting there, stinking, and requiring sewer lines, and plant maintenance. That’s part of tier one. Sanitation contributes to qauality of life which is a physiological need. Why not use it to counter hunger, another tier one requirement. Use the sewage to grow fish food for the aquaponics fish and meat animals? Build an ecosystem if you will.”

“Huh!” I said “ I do believe you have a point.”




To Be Continued


I hope you are enjoying this
Yarn

.
Perhaps you might also enjoy
Other Books
that I have written.
.
AND
.
Follow me @everittdmickey
.
That's my Blog
in which I pontificate on Technology,
Philosophy, Religion,Politics, Economics
and occasionally
ShantyBoats
.
In my Blog I write about,
and hopefully engage my readers in discussions about,
the possible lifestyles that we will encounter after
TEOTWAWKI happens.
.
It WILL happen, one way or another,
probably something in between.
One thing is for sure and for certain though,
the world will NOT remain the same.
.
So Come on Down!
Sit a spell.
I got the Coffee on.



The Hobo Picture is a Public Domain image from
Samantha at the Worlds Fair
by Josiah Allen's Wife (Marietta Holley)
Illustrated by
Baron C. De Grimm published by
Funk and Wagnall's Company 1893
Unless noted
All other Illustrations are from
Pixabay


Sort:  

Keep it up. Resteemed.

roger that.
I have another episode primed and ready.
Just waiting for the 24hr to time out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66028.29
ETH 2694.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89