TEOTWAWKI (An Original Novel - Episode 60)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing8 years ago




Reconciliation


Captain

“Whatcha doing Tommy?” I asked the little boy who was standing on the shore looking across the river. “Is everything alright? Can I help you with something?”

“Every thing’s fine Officer Parmalee. I’m waiting for my daddy to come home.” The little boy said, he sniffled a little. I realized the little guy wanted to cry really bad.

“It’s kind of late.” I told me gently. “I’ll just wait here with you until your poppa comes home. Where’s your mommy?”

“She's inside the house.” Tommy told me with a sniffle. “Mommy and daddy were shouting at each other when daddy left for work this morning. Mommy is crying. She’s been crying all day. I hate it when she does that. I hate it when THEY do that. She told me to go outside and play before daddy came home. I came down here to watch the water. I like to watch the birds play. We’ve had some really strange birds show up lately. Have you noticed them?”

“Actually I have. Those birds are really strange.” I wasn’t lying to the little boy, exactly, I was just being agreeable. I had no idea what he was talking about but this didn’t seem the time to disagree about anything. The kid seemed pretty stressed.

Distraction. I needed a distraction so I said “Oh Hey! What do you think of that new Avenger movie? Have you seen it yet?”

“Oh yeah!” the little boy brightened right up. “The Hulk is awesome! I saw it. I also saw RoboCop on NetFlix. It got me to thinking. RoboCop reminded me of you. Are you a Cyborg too?”

“Well no, or maybe yeah, kinda. I’ll have to think on that. Actually I am I suppose.” I told him. “I guess I am. In a manner of speaking, yeah. I’m not missing near as many parts as he was though. I’m only missing my legs. Does that bother you?”

“NO! I think it’s awesome. I wish I could be a cyborg too. It’s cool.” The little guy’s mind was totally off his family problems now.

Me and the little boy talked for a while. We took turns skipping flat rocks across the water. Just before dark the boy’s dad appeared.

“Tommy? So there you are!” The father said. “It’s time to come home now son. Your mother is waiting for you.”

“Is she still crying?” Tommy looked at his daddy.

“No... she’s okay now. Everything is Okay. We kissed and made up.” The man told his son.

“Ewwwww’” Tommy made a face. That didn’t stop me from taking off like a streak.

“Thank you for watching after Tommy.” The father said. “His mother and I had a bit of a squabble.”

“It happens. Is everything all right?” I asked “Is there anything I can do to help?”

“No, you’ve helped us a lot just by visiting with Tommy. I saw you standing here earlier when I got home. The wife and I had a nice little chat without fear of him overhearing us. After that we reconciled.” He winked “If you know what I mean.”

“Yeah, I know what you mean.” I forced a knowing grin and lied like a rug. I had no clue as to what he really meant. I didn't have a clue what he was telling me. Yeah...I don't get out a lot.

“I need to get back. “ the man said. “Thank you again.”

“All part of the service.” I said. “All part of the service.” I muttered to myself as I continued my beat. “Reconciled? Reconciled must have been a codeword” I muttered. “I wonder what it means”.

Then it came to me, ”Ohhhhhhhh.”

I grinned then.




To Be Continued


I hope you are enjoying this
Yarn

.
Perhaps you might also enjoy
Other Books
that I have written.
.
AND
.
Follow me @everittdmickey
.
That's my Blog
in which I pontificate on Technology,
Philosophy, Religion,Politics, Economics
and occasionally
ShantyBoats
.
In my Blog I write about,
and hopefully engage my readers in discussions about,
the possible lifestyles that we will encounter after
TEOTWAWKI happens.
.
It WILL happen, one way or another,
probably something in between.
One thing is for sure and for certain though,
the world will NOT remain the same.
.
So Come on Down!
Sit a spell.
I got the Coffee on.


The Hobo Picture is a Public Domain image from
Samantha at the Worlds Fair
by Josiah Allen's Wife (Marietta Holley)
Illustrated by
Baron C. De Grimm published by
Funk and Wagnall's Company 1893
Unless noted
All other Illustrations are from
Pixabay


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59