TEOTWAWKI (An Original Novel - Episode 119)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing8 years ago




That Went Well


Attention is once more focused on Joshua

“I thought that went rather well. There were still some ‘rough spots’ that needed to be attended to but I was rather pleased with my first attempt. So much so that I wanted to do it again”


JOSHUA

Yvette said, “I thought that went rather well!”

I said, “Excellent actually, are there any more homeless people nearby?”

Yvette replied “As a matter of fact there is. Follow the yellow brick road.”

I had been sitting on a bus stop bench. I stood up, picked up my staff and boarded my tiny electric unicycle. A virtual yellow brick road appeared before my augmented eyes. It stretched before me into the distance, I followed it. I was tickled with my new means of transportation and it certainly beat walking. I’d seen a video of a small electric unicycle on the internet and had decided that it would be just the thing. I’d made one with SSmoke although mine had several refinements. Unlimited range for example, and higher speed if need be.

I thought that the tiny unicycle enhanced my image as a magician. I tipped the brim of my hat, leaned forward, and glided away, my trench coat barely skimming the surface. I glided as silently as a ghost down the walkway. People who saw me were initially surprised, then smiled when I waved and breezed past, making no more sound in my passing than a bicycle would, perhaps less. I was much less intimidating to pedestrians than a bicyclist.

Yvette said, “This will do. There’s a bush that you can get behind.”

I glided behind the bush where I was concealed from the casual eye and stopped my unicycle. I held out my open hand. Smoke began to billow forth and a small tornado slowly took shape. The tiny twister gradually changed into a small, if somewhat chubby, dragon.

The little dragon took to the air, and vanished from sight. I stepped back onto my unicycle and resumed rolling down the sidewalk. The whole process had taken a very few minutes.



To Be Continued


I hope you are enjoying this
Yarn

.
Perhaps you might also enjoy
Other Books
that I have written.
.
AND
.
Follow me @everittdmickey
.
That's my Blog
in which I pontificate on Technology,
Philosophy, Religion,Politics, Economics
and occasionally
ShantyBoats
.
In my Blog I write about,
and hopefully engage my readers in discussions about,
the possible lifestyles that we will encounter after
TEOTWAWKI happens.
.
It WILL happen, one way or another,
probably something in between.
One thing is for sure and for certain though,
the world will NOT remain the same.
.
So Come on Down!
Sit a spell.
I got the Coffee on.



The Hobo Picture is a Public Domain image from
Samantha at the Worlds Fair
by Josiah Allen's Wife (Marietta Holley)
Illustrated by
Baron C. De Grimm published by
Funk and Wagnall's Company 1893
Unless noted
All other Illustrations are from
Pixabay


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41