TEOTWAWKI (An Original Novel - Episode 111)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing8 years ago




Yvette


The EMT's were professional. I suppose having a nervous breakdown because of the Kraken would have to wait. I know I felt that way. The Kraken had departed anyway so they were no longer a factor. The helicopter hovered directly overhead and two of the EMT’s rappelled onto the WIGCraft. Triage was preformed immediately. The injured Drivers who were most likely to be saved through immediate medical attention were loaded onto the helicopter. Me and the others were left on the rescue WIG for Marc and Captain to take care of. The triage medic had taken one look at me and just knew that I would die soon. I suppose he thought that nothing could be done for me. There was limited room on the Chopper. There was no help for it. I was left so that others could live in his mind. The four most seriously injured would fly back on the Jay Hawk helicopter.

Captain winked at me.

“Now’s your chance to make some bragging points,” He said so that only I could hear. “These guys just KNOW you are dying before their eyes. Want to have some fun?”

“Sure, why not,” I said. “It beats a poke in the chest with a sharp stick.”

Captain’s smile got bigger and he nodded a little bit

“You’ll do” He said

Marc turned to me with an evil grin. “Want to play cards on the trip back to pass the time? How bout poker? I have a deck. You all can play while I drive. Who all wants to play?”

“I’d love to,” I said. The other drivers stared at me in horror. Two of them fainted. Two more stuck their heads out the window to puke. The others just stared in horror. Everyone was dumbstruck.

“Guess not.” I said. “This has been a strange day.”

“You have no idea,” Marc replied.

Captain said, “Oh I think I does, or will. What say we race the chopper back to the hospital?”

Marc’s eyes opened wide, then my face broke into another of his patented evil grins. “Suuuuure. Why not. It’ll be fun.

“Yup, it’s been a strange day.” Marc muttered. Then he informed his passengers, “Ya’ll hold on back there, buckle up your seat belts or something. I got a hot date in town and I don’t want to be late.”

The WIGCraft launched. It should have been totally, completely, and absolutely impossible for it to even keep the helicopter in sight.

Wrong.

It was more than it seemed having been conjured from Ssmoke by the ArchMage, or so I learned much later. The difficult he did right away, the impossible might take a little longer. The flight crew of the medi-vac and the news chopper couldn't believe their eyes, when they watched us overtake them, streak past, and vanish into the fog in the distance. The WIGCraft was at the hospital, docked and unloaded, when the helicopter landed.

I was already inside having a stake

..........removed.


After surgery I lay in my hospital bed staring into space. A TV was turned on but I was ignoring yet another replay of ‘Shark Week”. I was thinking about what I had just experienced. Was it, could it, be real? I had to admit that I was alive. That was a definite point in my favor, but had it all been a hallucination brought on to avoid the very grim reality that I had faced?

Or was it cold, hard reality, actual, surreal events?

Yvette said, “That’s GREAT, I’m glad you are alive. Hi there, I’m Yvette your Daemon.”

My mouth fell open. A girl had just appeared before me out of nowhere. She was smiling radiantly and bouncing up and down on the balls of her feet. She was the girl of his dreams. Other than being slightly transparent she was perfect in every last detail. Nice, er..., hair too.

“Oops, your heart rate has increased,” Yvette said casually. “Blood pressure too. Wonder why that is?”

She appeared to think about it for a little bit..then looked at me. She raised an eyebrow.

“Oh. I don’t have any clothes on,” she grinned impishly. “Do I? How forgetful of me. I’m naked aren’t I?”

“Nasty things clothes. All scratchy,” I stammered “Don’t mind me though, no need to go to any trouble on my account. Don’t bother with them, you’re just fine the way you are, really!”

Yvette turned to me, and shimmied. “Really?”

She smiled again. She lit up the room with her smile. The heart rate monitor beeped again.

“Oops,” she said.

A nurse walked in, she apparently didn’t see the naked girl.

“How are you doing young man?” she asked.

“Well, uh,” I was overwhelmed. I’m a Geek. I am socially awkward to say the least. My words seem to tangled up in my mouth repeatedly whenever women were present. Now I had two females to contend with and one them was naked.

It was the best part of the day so far.

“You're our miracle boy,” the nurse said. “It’s impossible that you are still alive, yet here you are.”

She checked my sensor chart.

“Your blood oxygen concentration is good,” she muttered, “exceptionally good actually. That a bit odd.”

“Is that a bad thing?” I stammered

“Huh? No. That’s a good thing, but what is this? Elevated heart rate? Higher than normal blood pressure?” She raised an eyebrow and looked at me.

“It’s Shark Week on TV,” I said. “Nothing but sharks on TV. It’s really very scary.”

She continued looking at me. Her eyes sparkled…her lips began to quiver.

“I imagine it is,” she choked out.

“You seem to be doing okay otherwise,” she gasped. “I have to go now.”

She stumbled out of the room and into the hall. She cracked up immediately once she passed through the door. I could hear her laughing. “Shark Week? He said Shark Week? After what he went through and he says he's scared by Shark Week on TV?”

She totally lost it then. She was either laughing or crying, I couldn’t tell which, listening through the door.

“What did I say?” I muttered.

“No idea,” Yvette said and giggled, then she beamed at me with her patented thousand watt smile.....and wiggled. She shimmied.

The heart rate monitor squealed.



To Be Continued


I hope you are enjoying this
Yarn

.
Perhaps you might also enjoy
Other Books
that I have written.
.
AND
.
Follow me @everittdmickey
.
That's my Blog
in which I pontificate on Technology,
Philosophy, Religion,Politics, Economics
and occasionally
ShantyBoats
.
In my Blog I write about,
and hopefully engage my readers in discussions about,
the possible lifestyles that we will encounter after
TEOTWAWKI happens.
.
It WILL happen, one way or another,
probably something in between.
One thing is for sure and for certain though,
the world will NOT remain the same.
.
So Come on Down!
Sit a spell.
I got the Coffee on.



The Hobo Picture is a Public Domain image from
Samantha at the Worlds Fair
by Josiah Allen's Wife (Marietta Holley)
Illustrated by
Baron C. De Grimm published by
Funk and Wagnall's Company 1893
Unless noted
All other Illustrations are from
Pixabay


Sort:  

I just read this wonderful episode ..... I haven't read yet other episodes. But, now I have to read this fantastic novel :D

thank you for the kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64198.11
ETH 2759.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66