TEOTWAWKI (An Original Novel - Episode 100)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing8 years ago




Roof


Kamiko

I'd planted the seed. Would it germinate? I would know soon enough.

“Okay... this is going to be easy,” Shelby said. “All we need is a permeable membrane that covers the whole island and passes air but not water.”

No problem there” Chad replied “I can design a Graphene mesh that’ll do that. The Omni-Forges can make it easily.’

One more thing, “ Shelby said. “The mesh needs to be physically designed such that... ”

“It can float!” Chad burst out, cutting off Shelby. “Temperature gradient differential...”

“Light Emitting Woven Fabric, ” Shelby finished, ”under the dome.”

“Inverse of that. Photo electric woven into the top,” Chad proclaimed.

The Magi were in full cry . The seed was indeed growing.


One day, with no warning, it STOPPED raining on the island. Everyone had become so inured to the incessant rain, that it only became noticed by the sudden absence. All the residents on Flint Island looked around in wonder, it was very odd. There appeared to be a roof over the whole island that kept the rain away.

“Yes Shelby?” I replied to the ArchMage’s query.

“Mission accomplished,” Shelby replied. “Roof job is done”

“No more rain?” I asked.

“No more rain,” he replied.

“One more thing.” Shelby said.

“What’s that dear?” I asked.

“Bonus. Unlimited, pure filtered water for drinking, cooking and other purposes,” he said, “that further secures tier one.”

“No more water bill?” This was indeed a bonus if I understood him correctly.

“Nope, no more electric bill either. The dome is covered with photocells on the outside,” he grinned. “Our cells actually work too, 99% efficiency rating, almost total sunlight to power conversion. It even works under cloud cover. Chad and I came up with ‘gimmicks’ to balance the load too.”

“Very GOOD” I almost purred in relief. I felt a tremendous load leave my shoulders. I'd been carrying it so long that I didn't realilze how the heavy responsibilty had been weighing me down. I hadn’t told anyone but my finances were nearing the breaking point.

The food production has helped...but not enough.

This was enough.

We were saved.



To Be Continued


I hope you are enjoying this
Yarn

.
Perhaps you might also enjoy
Other Books
that I have written.
.
AND
.
Follow me @everittdmickey
.
That's my Blog
in which I pontificate on Technology,
Philosophy, Religion,Politics, Economics
and occasionally
ShantyBoats
.
In my Blog I write about,
and hopefully engage my readers in discussions about,
the possible lifestyles that we will encounter after
TEOTWAWKI happens.
.
It WILL happen, one way or another,
probably something in between.
One thing is for sure and for certain though,
the world will NOT remain the same.
.
So Come on Down!
Sit a spell.
I got the Coffee on.



The Hobo Picture is a Public Domain image from
Samantha at the Worlds Fair
by Josiah Allen's Wife (Marietta Holley)
Illustrated by
Baron C. De Grimm published by
Funk and Wagnall's Company 1893
Unless noted
All other Illustrations are from
Pixabay


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41