You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOTES FROM AN AMATEUR WRITER #47 - Books vs Movies: Who Wore it Better?

in #writing6 years ago

This is always an interesting question, especially since the majority of "blockbuster" materials find their sources in literature these days.

I know that I generally enjoy books far more than the movies. It's a difficult thing sometimes because reading a book before a movie allows you to build the world in your mind, so when you see it on the screen, most of the time it's disappointing. However, if you watch a movie first before reading the book, your mind will fill in the scenery and character descriptions based on the familiarities in the movie you've already seen.

It's quite a dilemma, but I'm going to keep reading and watching either way.

One book-to-TV show adaptation that I was very pleased with involves The Expanse, a series of science fiction novels by James S. A. Corey which has been adapted into a television series on the SyFy network. I did a review of the first book a long time ago and pointed out some of the reasons I thought the TV show was well-done.

Anyhow, thank you for the post. It's well-done and thought-provoking. I look forward to seeing more posts from you soon.

Sort:  

It's quite a dilemma, but I'm going to keep reading and watching either way.

I agree with this sentiment. Your explanation of the potential costs of watching the movie first, or even reading the book first seems spot on to my experience. But that's a price to pay for loving great stories, and wanting to find more of them. In which ever medium. But the best do seem to start as books

I'm interested to read your analysis of The Expanse, thanks for letting me know, I'll follow up with a visit soon.

Thanks for your response. I'm excited about reading right now, so I'm going to hold onto this feeling as long as I can. Plenty of good books and movies slated for 2018, though. Hoping desperately to hear something out of old Martin about The Winds of Winter, but I've found other and arguably better books to fill that void that has existed since I last read that series in 2013.

Anyhow, thank you for your perspective. Let me know what you think of The Expanse review. I've only read the first three, but the series is complete now as the seventh book just came out recently. Honestly I haven't read them because they are still rather expensive per book, and I haven't forked it out. Perhaps I'll drop some STEEM to buy them.

Hoping to watch the show soon, and see what I think. Wont have a chance to read the books for a while, but will check the review you wrote and let you know my thoughts. I think television production has gone up a notch recently. When it comes to dramas. Production values seem to be getting taken seriously. Perhaps this is mostly on the streaming services, but it is happening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61394.39
ETH 3386.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50