He broke my heart and I don't even know him | 10 PM thoughts

in #writing7 years ago


Frienemies would beat you, hit you, until the next big lash on your skin feels nothing more than just an insect bite. Just the same, life can be like that. Image Source

I don't know him.

Kim Jonghyun was his name. I never knew him. I never even heard his name in passing. I know the group he belongs in, though, called Shinee, because they made it pretty big in the entertainment industry. 

December 18 this year, though, from five members, Shinee became four. Jonghyun appeared to have taken his own lifeLike many before him, he didn't get to live beyond 27 years. 


It was a battle lost, but still a battle well-fought. Image Source

He broke my heart.

I may not have known him. He may not have known me. But this guy just broke my heart.

Until the end there was one thing he was looking for: validation

Reportedly, among his last words relayed to his sister was, "Tell me I did well." It was so chilling, all the hairs in my body literally rose up. But more than anything, it was relateable.

You did well.

And I wanted to tell this guy I never knew that, "Hey, you did well. Keep doing well." Many people did. Many fans all over the world, expressing their griefs, said, "You did well."

You did well.

It was a validation worth hearing. But it was a three-word-phrase Kim Jonghyun never got to hear. And so I'd ask myself: would those words have saved him? 

If I were him, drowning in the pits of the bottomless ocean with screams for help unheeded, would mere words save me? 

The falling tree.

If a tree falls and nobody's around to hear it, does it really make a sound? If you're breaking and no one's around to see it, are you still so sure of yourself?

And that's how I felt about Jonghyun's request to tell him he did well. Was anyone around to see how broken he had been? If no one was around, was the world he was living in still, in any way, reality?

It's a battlefield.

One day, I was with a close friend and we were talking about how hard it was. Living, that was.

What did we go to school for again? Why did we struggle each day to wake up early and pull ourselves to the outside world? We were losing track of what we were living for, and it was scary.

Your body and brain battle each day; one telling you to not move, the other telling you to move. It was a battle, and each day, you want the better option to win.

Keep moving.

Don't stop.

Be kind.

To yourself.

Make it.

Don't break it.

Give respect.

Take respect.

You're doing well.

Keep it up.

;

Where it should have ended, but you keep going.

Sort:  

Always remember:

You

are

Not

Alone.

#life
Nelson Mandela : The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.

so sad news..

Oh god! I would have never realized it myself that he died at 27! THAT 27 GIVES ME CHILLS EVERY SINGLE TIME! :( He was sooooooo beautiful and very talented. He did well and fought well all these years. Thanks for writing such good article.

P.S. You markdown style is great!

Hi @olaivart! The 27 thing gives me chills too. 😭 He seemed like he had a whole life ahead of him, but I guess we can never tell unless someone had really taken the time to truly listen to him. 💔

Re: markdown. I dont't really use markdown (I always get confused which symbols to use). The post was in HTML. 😉 Regardless, thank you so much!!! 💕

I don't know if you listen to Kpop, but he wrote this song. It's my comfort song, and when I heard that he committed suicide, all I could ever think was, "Jonghyun, you can breathe now." It was so devastating! :( And truly, he was one of the most talented singer-songwriters of his generation.

Aww, I wish I know how to use HTML. I only know the basics. You're welcome! :)

Your style of writing is just amazing. I had to follow through to the end

Thank you @arnoldmusa90! I think being a bookworm helped heaps with my writing style. 😅

Same feels! His last words were just so heart breaking. ;((((

Sad news. True that do not be hard to yourself, being able to survive a day means you are doing well already.

Yup, and it's a battle won each time you get through the day. 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74