You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keeping Up with the Joneses

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

You offer a good article. I think the idea of needing more and keeping up with the Joneses was increasingly propelled after World War II. The middle class in America wanted to do better for their children thus the me generation and the need to have material wealth. We have seen a second wave of this through social media today. I guess I don't fit the mold because I don't care what the hell the Joneses think. I think that concept is born out of the need for approval in one's life and some sort of social acceptance. For myself I'm not worried if I have that or not as I have other things in my life too draw my attention to. But there are folks who need it like Linus needs a blanket and for them it works. I'm not so certain one can keep up with the Joneses because they're always one step ahead of you. Thanks my friend for a good article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67916.87
ETH 3819.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67