Are Writers Solitary Spirits?

in #writing6 years ago

I chose writing as a vocation.

However, some days, it feels like I’m very detached from the whole world. I feel like I’m not human. I feel crazy. I feel like I’m locked in a dark hole. I reached out to find others and know if they had my own kind of nightmares too.

As a writer do you feel the same way, too? 

“Like many others who turned into writers, I disappeared into books when I was very young, disappeared into them like someone running into the woods. What surprised and still surprises me is that there was another side to the forest of stories and the solitude, that I came out that other side and met people there. Writers are solitaries by vocation and necessity. I sometimes think the test is not so much talent, which is not as rare as people think, but purpose or vocation which manifests in part as the ability to endure a lot of solitude and keep working.Before writers are writers they are readers, living in books, through books, in the lives of others that are also the heads of others, in that act that is so intimate and yet so alone.”~ Rebecca Solnit, Flight.

I think I believe in what she said. But as it stands, I'll keep powering on, nonetheless. 

Sort:  

A writer must have to be alone sometimes. He must go into that world of gliding herculean exploits. He must dream and murmur in virtual ink.

Sadly but not minding, that solitary lifestyle is misinterpreted by many.

I am a writer. I DO NOT CARE about that. I just live as a writer.

Keep powering on.

I do get to those points. And like you mentioned, I go get lost in a book. It does help a great deal.

Have followed you. Kindly do follow back

It's indetestable. When I started writing at a young age, I was always alone with my books and writing materials. I was an introvert, so I believed. That made me interact more with my books and pens.

At times it's good but the truth remains that we ought to put checks and balances in our life to avoid extremism.

“If there is no struggle, there is no progress.” –Frederick Douglas.

Many discussions with peers have lead me to believe this quote can sum up most of a graduate student's writing life. Our struggles turn into lessons.

I first started to enjoy writing in high school in my freshmen English class on constructing essay. Since then, I have had a strange affection for the form. Even though critics bash it for its convention and supposed lack of creative opportunity, an clean, concise bla bla bla .....but then you'd agree its not what they say as you read now.

You aren't always alone.

Millions of writers are always locked behind doors putting the word to change the world

In your own words @emekanobis Writers are truly solitary spirits.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52