Sanctuary

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


The tile is slick on my way to the sauna, and my legs are hesitant. I leave my bag outside the door.

The steamed scent of wood, smoky but not quite, meets my nose when I enter. I step onto the first bench to spread my towel over the next. By the time I climb up to relax into the plush cotton, my hair is already halfway dried into waves.

I stretch myself out on my stomach. My toes touch the wall, and I push myself forward. Folding my arms in front of me, I rest my head and close my eyes.

Heat penetrates my shoulders in ethereal embrace, releasing my thoughts through my pores in peace and with love.

I rinse the sweat from my body before I move to the pool, laughing as I play in the water.


Inspired by the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - Spa provided by the lovely @mariannewest!




@IsleofWrite logo design by @PegasusPhysics


Sort:  

Makes me want to go to a sauna. Your story didn't provide an actual sauna. For that my criticism is your story needs less show and more...directions to a free sauna near me.

Your writing brings its own powerful head space. You've got quite an x-factor goin on there.

Thank you!

I can't tell you where your nearest sauna is, but I can tell you that it is definitely worth visiting!

💚

Oh, what a post. it's like I've been to a Spa! thank you very much my friend! this is a fantastic post!)

You are very welcome, I'm happy that I was able to share the feeling!

💚

taking this opportunity , you may be interested in my blog. I write about holidays

I used to love saunas but now, I get a headache when I get too hot :( (and then I throw up :( )

I'm voting the comment, but not the headaches!

Thank you for inspiring me to have my own little spa day.

💚

You've just amazingly transformed your experience into the words . Lol !! I can't read your words , rather I would feel them . Btw the spa technique you mentioned seemed new one to me .

The "spa" was actually just a swimming pool with a sauna, but I'm happy you liked it!

Your description presented a refined mental imagery; I could feel myself being there, the heat. We need more spa freewrites, they're so relaxing to read.

Hi, I'm here to remind you of today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-123-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-fumigate
Very nice description of a day at the spa, by the way.

Thank you, it was an excellent prompt!

Well accumulated... I just followed you!

which camera did u use for this??
this is really awesome @ellievallie

The photo is just from Pixabay to go with the story, but I hope you like the writing as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32