Squish and ToothpastesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

Chicken, cheese, yogurts, cereal, bread, milk… I think that’s it.  

I am sure that’s it. 

I reach checkout and pay. I am pleased that I completed this task without a list. I need a list to do anything these days.  I reach the car, pack in the groceries and head home. I sing to the song on the radio excited to see my children after a hard day at work. I arrive home and unpack, but suddenly feel uneasy.  

Where is the toothpaste? 

 I was so adamant to buy when I squeezed the last morsel onto my toothbrush this morning. And the squish? (Blended packaged fruit for a baby) I remember just how much my little one loves them. 

Should I climb back into the hot car and face the dreaded Friday afternoon traffic? The thought of it makes me want to melt into the kitchen floor. I decide I am just going to go to bed with stale breath! Then I think of my baby girl. She didn’t forget the squish. I can’t disappoint her. I love her.  

With renewed strength I grab my keys and climb into my car. I drive out into traffic and feel a sense of purpose, like a mother lion who devotedly sources food for her young. I in this concrete jungle am fending for my young. 

Triumphant I return with the squish and offer it to a smiling little face with outstretched arms. 

I know I have done well.  

I guess I do need a list.  


Image courtesy of pixabay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59403.33
ETH 2607.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38