The Cock Crow At DawnsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170904_204348_481.JPG

Credit

 


Hmmm.... Just woke up this morning and decided to make a detour from my usual repertoire on Steemit , perhaps do something different. Not because I was bereft of poetic ideas but because I wanted to put a touch of versatility in my work. For most nights that sleep was evasive, I had found myself ruminating on the past and sometimes oscillating between the events of the past and the present and using that to take stock of how I have fared so far. But this morning , as I heard the crow of my rooster , I was once again transported back to the past and I stumbled on something I would like to write about. I was like 'Should I or should I not share'? Having made up my mind to do that , I quickly sprang up from my bed , took my writing pad ( which has now become a handy tool since I joined the Steemit community ) and began to scribble down my early morning perusals , quickly before the appropriate words deserted me . I will tell you a little bit of the circumstances surrounding my growing years and why I hold them so dear to my heart. At childhood , I went to live with my maternal grandma in the village / countryside though my parents lived in the suburbs . Being the first grandchild bestowed on me special treats and my grandma loved me specially , a feeling deeply reciprocated . Growing up in a small rural community was so much fun for me. I was particularly enchanted by nature , awed by it and the interpretations attached to them captivated me the more. Amongst such objects that held me spell-bound was the cock (a male bird , especially of a domestic fowl ). The perception of time was initiated by this animal as it was used to reckon time. The cock was referred to as the harbinger of a new dawn as it actually ushers in the new day. The morning brings about the beginning of a new business day or is it a new 'farming day? The third cock-crow was calculated to be around 4am and a typical day would start by 5am. Grandma would always be awake at the the third crow , and in a comfortably reclining position , would mutter prayers and then meditate. She would always say 'the cool hours of pre-dawn helped you to clear your head and put the day ahead in their proper perspective' (an exercise which has helped me over the years). At about 5a.m, with an eerie precision , she would wake me up with a tap . I used to wonder if she ever slept at all and prayed that one day , I would be like her and be able to tell with accurate precision the time , just by hearing the cock crow at Dawn . When I told my kids this , they were like 'your grandma was really really cool 😎. Isn't it novelty that something as frail as the cock could actually be used as a time keeper by the ancient?.... Hmmm .... Really really cool ! Don't you think so? Let me know your thoughts. Thank you for stopping by my neighbourhood.

DQmcGTgE9ztQ7QmWESyE7uVqLrUqfbAa1fsTCod6dmsFYjP.gif

Sort:  

Honestly you have got something to offer. You've got vibes but you need much work on your formatting otherwise it will be difficult for those that matter to take proper look at your works. Leave whatever you're doing, approach @sweetestglo-eu or read current @habysco work and practice!

Thanks so much boss. I will do that.

Hmmmmm. Am not left behind ooh @eurogee

You're a prolific writer like i always say. i hope to see your new post with better formatting and markdown.💟

Thank you so much for your guidance. I promise to try my best.

Lovely post. That was in the good old days.

Exactly! You feel me.

This is a beautiful piece ma'am. But a bit of spacing will be lovely.

Thank you. I'll do that.

Bringing back good old memories. Those days when men were boys and women girls. Nice one. Steem on lady.

Thank you so much for your compliments.

Lovely work dear

Nice work! Please speak with Glory! Your works deserve more than the likes on them. Thanks.

Thank you so much. I will

Ma, this is so lovely, I like the unique use of word in the line...

oscillating between the events of the past and the present

Thank you so much. I'm happy you like it.

this is lovely ... keep it up

Nice post, you just got my memory refreshed of the old days stuffs.

Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43