You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Four Months into Steemit - My Performance Critique

in #writing8 years ago

Beautiful honesty, and very recognizable. I'm glad the financial incentives encourage people to be polite. I can use some encouragement to be positive, to avoid trolling and trying to convince people.

About promises: do you know the egoist philosopher Max Stirner? He said that you shouldn't feel bound by promises you made, because you're not the same person today that you were yesterday. It's a bit juvenile, but it did make me think. I try not to feel guilty about breaking promises I made to adults who aren't paying me. In theory, not making promises would be better, but we're social animals, not rational robots.

If you asked me, I'd say upvoting naturally is a good thing, and resteeming a lot is a little annoying. But you didn't.

Sort:  

I haven't read Stirner, but that is definitely an interesting perspective. I used to stress out intensely when I left the smallest promise unfulfilled. I think I would still be like that. but I don't have the energy to do so.

Great comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54370.47
ETH 2283.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33