You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Politically INCORRECT fantasy authors - Is it so bad?

in #writing7 years ago

Great piece, I wish I had been able to read it back when I could give it some rewards!

You make good points though, and these are obviously topics I think about a lot. Especially with the weird disconnect between stories that are so strongly humanist (Speaker For The Dead) written by people (Orson Scott Card) that hate minorities.

The lack of self awareness is so damn confusing sometimes haha, though I'm sure HPL was well aware of what he was doing.

I guess we put these authors into a category of stories one should read after their own moral compass reliably points North.

Sort:  

Exactly! These stories are not lessons, I've never felt like these authors wrote their stories in order to brain-wash readers and transform them to racists! Racism exists, it would be unnatural to read stories with no mention of it, or have white-washed sterilized content. Thanks for replying here.

It's something I'm butting up against in Ithaqa. The 1920's were an intensely racist time, but I don't want my characters hating minorities, and I'm not sure how comfortable I am with having even bad guys drop the n word in a story I've written.

There were a lot of forward thinking people in the 1920's so it's not crazy my main characters wouldn't hate African Americans, but I do worry about white washing the less than savory parts of the 1920's.

I don't have an answer yet, but I'm starting to lean more towards realism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45