Window, aisle, or middle?

in #writing7 years ago

The science and psychology of choosing seats on a plane


I have traveled on planes countless times, and the thought of talking to someone sitting next to me has always filled me with the worst anxiety.  How can I fill 5 hours of travel time (or more) with conversation with a stranger? 

But as I moved down the aisle of the plane and life should unfold before my very eyes – there was a gentleman sitting in my seat.  My husband and I had purchased an aisle and a window seat in the hopes that we would have a middle seat empty between us.  In the event that we did have a fellow passenger in between us – we would simply offer him the window, and sit together.    


You all know how fond I am of win/win situations!   In this case, it was.    


Not only did we give a desirable seat to a very grateful passenger, but I also made a friend. Within moments of him initiating the conversation, all of my previous anxieties were quelled.  It was like we were old friends, picking up where we had once left off.  We talked throughout the flight... and I was genuinely moved by this man who was flying to California to mourn the loss of his brother's fight to cancer. 


Partway through our budding friendship, he had asked me to read the words that he had prepared to speak about his brother.  I was so moved that he would share with me such an intimate and beautiful memorial of someone that was so important in his life.  His words were perfect. I assured him that they would be well received at the memorial the following day, and thanked him for giving me the honor of being a small part of this event in his life.   


Isn't it amazing how stories can make us laugh, cry, but most of all – feel a kinship to a “stranger”?  Even more amazing  – after these moments, we usually aren't strangers anymore.  We're just friends who have been previously separated by time and space.    


I told him a little bit about me, and how I was writing a post for Steemit for a treasure hunt... and that I hadn't the slightest clue what I was going to write about.  I needed a post with the word “seas” in order to complete my port phrases.  What was the name of the daughter of his beloved brother?   Mare.  She was named after the seas. 


There are no coincidences in life.    In discord today, @calumam and I were encouraging someone who was sharing their struggles with depression and anxiety.  As I read the end of the memorial speech that my new friend John had written to encourage the people attending the service, my heart skipped a beat.  He had quoted his brother, using the same words that I had spoken just hours in discord.  Words that were on my heart.  Words that he had heard from his brother.  Words that he wanted to pass on to inspire the hearts of those left behind.  Words that I had shared with the intent to breathe hope into a hurting soul. 


The connectivity in the conversation was not lost on either of us and we both agreed that this giant world is much smaller than we tend to realize.  Isn't it an exquisite thing when a seemingly random conversation can connect hearts?  I won't fill up this post with the other things that we had in common, but it was almost amazingly and fantastically spooky. 


In closing... I'll just end the post with the encouragement that synced us today. I won't tell you the actual words – I'll just paraphrase it for now.  The actual words aren't important.  The heart of the content is.

Take the time.

I'll say that again.  Take... the time...   Fill the rest of the sentence with all of the things that make your heart sing.  Your time is so precious and limited  


Take the time …. 



This post is an OFFICIAL PORT on @dreemsteem's "X Marks the Post" Treasure Hunt.  If you'd like to become a treasure hunter, an official stop, or a sponsor - Follow the map to begin your journey! By the way, she loves good comments even more than upvotes - so be sure to say Hi! 



Like what we're doing? Support us as a Witness.
Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
At the bottom, type in guiltyparties
Click VOTE


Sort:  

This is a beautiful sentiment, and I'm glad you had a chance to be inspired down this line of thinking.

I don't mind sitting next to folks on a plane, or in a car, or on a bus, or whatever. I think I fear having a great discussion to start, and then running out of things to say before you get to your destination. Then it feels like it might get weird as you kind of fall silent and wonder if you should try to continue the conversation, or do you give up and really surreptitiously stick your headphones on and start listening to an audiobook.

Regardless, it's always great when it works out perfectly, and makes the trip much more memorable.

yesssssssss that's another fear hahahaha
it worked out nicely!!!! we ended up kinda stopping after 4 hours and then i wrote my post about him and let him read it. he was really pleased with it :)

and I used this as my pimp your post today :) and encouraged more people hehehe

i have my picture to send you of things for you to choose! hehehe i thought you would be in PYPT.... but you're not. so i'll go find you :)

Glad I saw you for a brief moment on PYPT, as you sailed through on your way to newer and greater shenanigans.

Come find me on TWB :) I like t-shirts :)

i will totally come find you!!! and i'm so happy i saw you today too!

ok - so you want the grey or the black tshirt??? :) and you need to DM me your address :)

This is cool to hear. I also had a super long chat with a dude in a train somewhere abroad a while back. And we talked for hours and hours since we were working in a similar field, and I will never forget this chat to be honest.

Sometimes good conversations are closer around the corner than we think

i so agree :) i seem to love connections like this... but i get really nervous that it won't be good!!! that it will be too nerve-wracking

What a great story, my friend... even better the second time around. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

I'm glad you enjoyed it this the second time hahahaha 😍

Beautiful story! Though I always take the window seat so I don't have to lean over anyone to take photos. :)

Window_Seat_over_Sydney_by_Quoll_Pengo_Peter_Halasz_DSC_7381.jpg
full sized

Incredible photo!!!!!! I prefer the window seat also!!! Hehehehe but better to sit next to the hubby on this flight! :)

I love experiencing connections like this and even more love hearing about them. I call them adventures with God.

Take the time (to)......ya....that's the word for the day. If you only knew, my friend, if you only knew :)

thank you

Yes!!! Or divine appointments 😍
Oh...I would love to know more about your last statement... Hehehe

What discord channel are you on? Maybe I'll come online and say hi.

don't ask me why I didn't see this before. LOL

I'm on BuddyUp, Steemit Ramble, The Writers Block, PAL, ASAPers.... others too - but that's in the order of frequency I visit my channels ;)

I like it n good night my friend @dreemsteem

I love it when you meet someone that you can just click with and talk like long lost friends - it doesn't happen often. When it does it's special beyond words :)

@andysantics48 come in!!! i'm waiting for youuuuuuu hehehehe the show is about to start hehehe

You are so lucky for being able to be on board for many times. Sadly on my end, never tried ..

i really hope that you will be able to do it sometime!!!!! :)

Ahhh! It was seas all along! Right below mi feets! Arrr!

Play again next week??? 😏

Looking forward to it!

Hooray!!!!!!! 😊 And...I appreciated all your graphics and enthusiasm this week... So please accept this little tip! from me as my thanks!!!

Well... A tip! for you as well! Thank you for putting on a wonderful contest that encourages the real meaning of steemit. I appreciate it as I'm sure the port posters do too.

wow!!!! thank you so much!!!! :) tips are the best hehehehe

Hi @dreemsteem! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @doctorcrypto!

Hi @doctorcrypto! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

Did I get this right, @caluman quoted words of your new met friend's brother?
An elegant trick to use the word "seas" :P

heheheh kinda. what i said to the person in the discord channel.... it ended up being the SAME words that were used by my new friend.... in his memorial to his brother.

crazy...

and insane that her name worked out that way!!!! (but you're not supposed to say the clue LOL)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52