Raining Love

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

A drop dripped onto my face from the grills and I woke up. It was drizzling out there. In a reflex I pulled the glass pane low. Still, a few determined drops made their way in through the gap below.
The barren land and a few pale yellow trees were all that were in sight. The sun was at the end of the horizon, setting behind those unreachable hills. The sky looked like pints of yellowish paint spilled on reddish-orange canvas. Trees sprinted by. A faint petrichor filled the surroundings.

It was about time, we must be nearing our destination.
The train seemed quite quiet for it was near empty. For reasons unknown, all the chaos had subsided.
I guess, perfect weather touches everyone. Someone in the other compartment started a soothing song. The moment seemed perfect to fall in love, 'again'.

All my friends went to other compartments to have some privacy I guess. Who wouldn't prefer one in such a weather? And I sit here staring at her.
I guess she didn't prefer leaving the compartment. Whatever it was we had, I still had it in me and it wasn't easy to come over.

I see him sitting there beside her.
They're everything I lost, they're everything I ever wanted to be!
Wouldn't it be good if one could undo last few pages of their life?
I would undo few pages, not many, just a few and I would be there with her. But wait, if this was everybody's thing, she would have preferred to undo few more pages of the time book and we would have never been together, ever. I guess, that's what she would have done.

Suddenly he slides his arm around her. He didn't seem to mind my presence, neither did she. My presence proved my absence in her life.
I guess that's what love is, "Valiant", isn't it? Its just a random guess, for I was never in love, maybe...
And then his finger traced her fragile cheek.
A silent, unseen dagger pierced me through.
Maybe, his love was more 'dominant', 'pleasing', 'valiant' than mine. My love seemed 'suppressed', 'vulnerable', 'vague' in front of his.
You see, moments like these, makes one classify love in subcategories. But whatever it was, they were together. It was too late to take actions now.
So I stood up reluctantly.
"I have a call to make", and I crawled slowly to the aisle.
Far down the aisle ,I see a hawker coming.I pull the aisle curtains to give them their privacy.
Before the curtains shadow my pain, I see their lips meet and my whole world fell apart. My hollow soul shattered. Amidst the sounds of drizzle, the song, the screeching of the train, my cries seemed dormant.
I dragged myself to other compartment, sank in the berth near the window, this one open though. The wet berth creaked.
Though the destination was near, I had lost mine.
I lay there, with my eyes closed not minding the raindrops anymore.

train.jpg

I know it has kinda sad end to it. But that end seemed perfect to me ;) .
If you like it, do upvote it, leave a comment and follow me . Each upvote inspires me to write more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66