Hi, I Don't Know You, But Can You Give Me Some Directions, Please?

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

rain

Those who know me long enough, sooner or later get exposed to a strange thing that tends to happen to me on a regular basis. I don’t know why, I don’t know how, but it seems like I have this subtle ability to attract people asking me for directions. I don’t do anything for that, they just come and ask me.

It happens vey often on the streets, where it’s quite common to be stopped and asked for directions, by people I've never seen in my entire life.

It happened, for instance, in an elevator, in a building I’ve never been before, where some lady asked me about a certain company being at a certain floor. It happened constantly in the subway, in the plane, even when I traveled abroad. People stopped me on the streets of, I don’t know, Geneva or Paris or Auckland or even Vegas, to ask me if I don’t know where a certain street is. And I was just a tourist there.

I stopped long ago to ask myself why this is happening, until today, when this whole story reached the next level.

What happened?

Well, Wednesdays are my “circle days”. I won’t go into details about what a "circle day" is, because I’m preparing another, more complete post about it, suffice to say that during "circle days" I work from a coffee shop. One of my regulars is a coffee shop called “Arome”, very small, but with tremendously good food and very friendly staff.

As I was staying there this morning, a woman entered the coffee shop, cruised directly to me, watching me straight in the eyes. The fact that I was the only customer in the coffee shop kinda helped her to cruise directly to me, but still.

After we made eye contact, the woman smiled and asked me gently:

-- Do you have internet in this place?
-- Of course, I answered, thinking she was going to ask me about the WiFi password.

She smiled again:

-- Can you tell me where the Direction for the child protection is? she uttered like on my hat I had written all over, in italics: “I can tell anyone entering this space where the Direction for the child protection is”. And since I was staring to her like an UFO just landed on my desk, unloading a small alien asking me for a cappuccino, she continued: I just need the address to put in my GPS and from there I’ll be ok.

Without a word, I looked up the address on Google Maps and gave it to her, happy to be helpful.

She turned around with another smile and then left the coffee shop, while I was staying there, alone, looking at her blending in the busy, rainy wall of silhouettes passing by on the sidewalk.

And then I wrote this, while scratching my beard and asking what really happens in my life.

image source


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua

Sort:  

Really cool! The "circle day idea" as well (just read it parallelly). I like your style a lot, you´ve got a new follower now :-) Cheers from Canary Islands, Marly

Glad you liked it! :)

Thank you for posting this well written article.

You have an ability/talent to put on paper random thoughts that have been comprehended and composed and put to paper and thus honing the skill of writing. Many have the thoughts but have not taken them to comprehension and then onto composition.

This attraction element does cause one to ponder....bleujay would have to try being greyjay just to see if it made a difference.
or perhaps...this principle is in play.....
All reality is invisible.

Thanks for the nice words. As for what it takes to reach a level where you can express yourself clearly, I would say it just takes 1.000.000 words written. At least that's how I did it.

here, take my upvote! :D
nice post again!

Thanks, really appreciate it :)

So... I know the pull)

you have a new follower. STEEM ON!

Thanks, followed back and yes, keep steeming :)

You obviously have good energy. That is the attraction.

Thanks, I do feel good when I'm able to help somebody. Maybe this info somehow got "engraved" in "the field" and I keep getting more and more of it.

Maybe it's just like how some people seem to have a sign "I'm the person you should tell your life story to" or "confess every thing you've done bad here" thing. Probably related to the "looking familiar, feeling like you know them" phenomenon. I guess we all have our purpose for being useful to others, and don't get to choose what it is exactly. :)

That's very nicely put, especially the last part. Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56835.87
ETH 2399.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39