Improve your Writing (Purpose and Genre)

in #writing7 years ago

What do I want this piece of writing to do for both my reader and me? This is the best question you can ask yourself to try find or creating your purpose for your writing.


Image credit

All writing, no matter what type of writing it is, you will always find a purpose. When beginning to write your paper, ask yourself: Why am I writing this? If you hate the answer you get scratch the paper or try a different view on the topic.

When writing on a specific topic and you have asked yourself this question, you should be starting to list all the things, that come to mind, down on paper.

Always keep in mind these 4 basic things:

  • Inform
  • Persuade
  • Express
  • Entertain

There are others you can choose from, but having at lease one of these is a great step to creating a strong piece of writing. You can combine a few of these if you like, but make sure to keep in mind that "less is more". Having to many purposes can become confusing to the reader, so if you are going to combine a few make sure the fit well into each other.


Image credit

Your final choice on purpose will change how you write and what you write on the topic. For example, if you were to inform you would use a unbiased tone, were as entertain, you would express opinions, thoughts and maybe even mock the subject.

Genre

Once you have your purpose you can now choose your genre, or the form your writing takes. A genre is "a style of expressing yourself in writing."
Here are a few things genres:

  • Story
  • Autobiographical Essay
  • Analysis
  • Speech
  • Personal Essay
  • Persuasive Essay
  • Magazine Story

So whatever is your cup of tea and how you like to approach it - one block of sugar or two, if you like me its 4-5, just for that really sweet experience - make sure to clearly indicate your purpose to your reader and above all, enjoy what you are writing.


Image credit

Just on a little side note for self improvement. I will be doing 1 push-up for every 1$ earned on my posts and will give a short feedback every day at the end of each post. As promised I will be doing 142 pushups, today, for yesterdays post. Any not done will carry onto the next day. 40 is carried over to the next day.

Sort:  

This is great! I think the most important key is to think about how you want to affect the reader emotionally and intellectually. Followed for more!

I have to agree with you there, as I love "feeling" the writer in the paper I read.

Agreed, it's also very important to engage them in the opening statement. The first sentence or two should clearly show someone what the piece is about/what it will do for them and how that will happen.

good information for writing beginners..

I wants to write articles for Steem,will be very helpful for me all tips.

Thank you for the tips, it really helpful

Nice mate. Will take these on board

This one was helpful! Thanks

Glad you found it useful. Thank you

thanks for the advice. I followed you because this is the kind of thing I want to get better at. I love writing but i'm not that good at it.

Well as they say there are no real professorial in writing, as each writer is always learning something now or trying something new. So good luck with all your future writing.

Good ideas you voiced in this post, I hope this will help many who do not know what and how.

I was never taught this at school so I am really glad that I have been taught this now.

I, too, was not taught, so I'm studying now, I hope it turns out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45