Improve your Writing (Comma Rules part 2)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


Image credit

As I have mentioned in part one. There is no need to learn every single rule and every exception to each rule, as that would take years and not all grammar guilds are the same, or even have the same rules.

Nonessential Interrupting Words and Phrases

You know sentences also have those horrible siblings that are always interrupting their flow. These kind of words or phrases are quite easy to pick up. As you read they will automatically disturb your brain or not make complete sense.

Here is some example:
Incorrect: You will not pass this test however I do accept bribes.
Correct: You will not pass this test, however, I do accept bribes.

Incorrect: My brother and I sneaking quietly through the door got into trouble with my mother.
Correct: My brother and I, sneaking quietly through the door, got into trouble with my mother.

Often the phrases will be additional information that you can take out the sentence and the rest of the sentence will still make sense.

Dates and Places

The best way to explain this is to show you. One must always place commas around dates or names of places

Dates:
July 12, 1997
On July 12th, 1997, is my birthday.
However the comma is not needed when there is not day for the month:
July 1997 is the year I was born in.

With places you would separate the names of the places form each other as well as the sentence using commas.

Example: My friend grew up in Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa, during the 1990's.

Addressing Someone Directly

When a person or group is spoken directly to in a sentence, you must places commas around them (depending on where they lie in the sentence).

In the sentence: You fool, Tim, you must make sure the can is facing the right way in the fire, or it will not blow up.

Start of the sentence: David, you must not stand so close to the fire!

Example with no commas: I wonder if David will be alright from all those burn marks.

Here is a link for a more in depth description of each: Download link

Just on a little side note for self improvement. I will be doing 1 push-up for every 1$ earned on my posts and will give a short feedback every day at the end of each post. As promised I will be doing 95 pushups, today, for yesterdays post. Any not done will carry onto the next day. 20 is carried over to the next day.

Sort:  

Quite informative. Thank you so much.

It is a pleasure

lol for the pushups! what a great motivation!

@dragonslayer, this was a useful post, as I've always struggled with commas, and I've haven't always known when to use them!

A saying they told us in class was, "when in doubt, leave the comma out"

Excellent stuff. You can always learn something. I wasn't totally aware of the rules when addressing someone directly!

Yes, that one came as such a shock to me, as I have never done it before and was never taught it at school.

Exactly the same here. I have found so much to learn since my so called formal education!

Yes, I am even wondering why we spend our best learning years of our life wasted on this education that doesn't seem to be teaching us much.

Absolutely. I had to learn most grammar rules myself a few years ago and reach and every one was a surprise to me

Correct: My brother and I, sneaking quietly through the door got, into trouble with my mother.

I dunno... but that second comma feels like its's a word late?

hahaha yes you are right I will fix that quickly :P sorry about that, even I make stupid mistakes... quite often actually XD

hehehe, we all know how it goes... you write about comma rules, of course you get a comma wrong ;)

hahaha the irony in it all :P

Finally I stumble upon you :-) Following and thank you for the upvote on my latest post (All gramma related comments are immensly appreciated)
Best,
@velimir

It is a pleasure. Keep up the great posts :)

Thank you. I intend to do so. I find this platform excellent for my work. :)

great and super helpful!

Glad you liked it :)

Thanks for the writing tips!

It is a pleasure :)

Thanks for sharing these amazing tips, will definitely try to follow them.

It is a pleasure, glad you found them helpfull.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36