Improve your Writing (Capitalisation Examples)

in #writing7 years ago

One of the biggest problems is quick texting, messaging. Many of us never use capitals when we send a quick text message to our family and friends. We do this so often that it can sneak up in our writing.


Image credit

First Words

First word of any sentence needs a capital letter. This doesn't mean that you avoid the full stop, just so you don't have to put a capital in. These rules apply everywhere, even in email and instant messaging.


Image credit

Direct Quotations or Dialogue

A quotation is pretty much a sentence someone else has said and therefore, needs a capital letter. This is exactly the same for a dialog. But remember that if your quotation or dialogue is still continuing then do not capitalise as it is still part of the same sentence. Example:

“Nothing so needs reforming,” Mark Twain once said, “as other people’s habits.”

Major Words in Titles

When capitalising a title, capitalise all the nouns and verbs, but never the "the," "on," "in", "a" and "if" or any other words such as these.

Countries, Languages, Nationalities,Racial and Ethnic Groups

This heading is pretty self explanatory as you will always capitalise them, the only exception is "black" and "white," but some other grammar guilds would be different.

Names and Titles

When using a person's name you will capitalise it, this goes the same for any titles that is in place of their name "Mom." This is only the case when the title if taking the place of a name or acting as a name. Example:
"I spoke to Dad," "I spoke to my dad" You can't replace your dad's name in the second sentence "I stoke to my Tim" it does not make sense.

Dates, Locations

Anything that is found on a map or calendar is capitalised, but do not capitalise direction. Example:
I live in the North. (This shows location)
I hiked west. (This is direction)

For more rules and a small exercise check out this Link.


Image credit

Just on a little side note for self improvement. I will be doing pushups, situps and squats for the amount of $$$ (ratio;$1:1) I earn on this post and will give a short feedback every day at the end of each post. This will be split in equally between all 3. Any not done will carry onto the next day.

Sort:  

I really agree with you, if we follow the true rule of writing like your post example that can improve our writing skill fast and try to be habit. That is the only way. Hope your posting usuful for us.

Hay @mahilmuhammad
I always follow your journey whether it is Travel or Other !!
I Wish You Would Also Follow and Upvote My Post @funnystuff
Really I Liked What You Do Every Day
And Always Join - Upvote - Comment and Reesteem
I wish the same
Thank You Sweet

Thanks for sharing this good info

This comment has received a 0.09 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

It's great that you've written such a simple, straightforward article about this, as it's a huge frustration of mine.

People like to use capitals for anything, but it's not good writing! I'm a professional writer and proof reader and it's such a common issue.

A different, but very interesting post!

Mr. Dragonslayer, you have touched a very sensitive topic. Most people these days do not know when and where to use capitals, most even are not aware of the reasons why we need to use capitals.

A few year back, I used to be a trainer, and I often noticed that my trainees would take notes in the SMS lingo, what would turn into wt, and how would turn into hu. It was a complete third-degree torture for me to see them slay a beautiful language.

I come from a background where using an ampersand instead of ‘and ’ was frowned upon and in most cases, a few marks were deducted if we used it in exams.

I am happy that you take time and write about stuff that nobody thinks it is relevant today.

I am bad for this, i even had to go back and edit this comment to add the capital , do you have any tips for blogging?

I will be starting a series of posts on tips to blog on steemit.

thank you very much
The information provided is very useful, I am sure that there is a good post

Great example. Especially 'I lived in the North, I hiked west'. I was making this mistakes often. Thanks for the post!

Glad you found it useful, I also did similar mistakes

Pretty damn helpful for someone who is working with many mail contacts :D

Thank you!

Very nice article , it is very helpful, thanks .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67334.81
ETH 3235.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64