Improve your Writing (Addressing Opposing Viewpoints)

in #writing7 years ago

This was a lesson I will never forget as you can use it in more than just your writing, but also in arguments and other things. Just remember guys women are always right, at least us men get the last say in all arguments with women: "Yes Darling"


Image credit

As we know we all do not think the same way. By adding these opposing view points in your writing is not a bad thing. It also shows your reader that you understand and have done research on your topic.


Gif credit

Why address opposing viewpoints?

You might think that putting opposing viewpoints in your writing is a really bad thing, as you want your reader to agree with you right? This doesn't just help the reader know you understand what you are talking about, it also helps with your credibility as a writer. This also gets the respect from your readers and they will listen to what you have to say.

How should an opposing viewpoint be presented?

State it right, state the argument and that you do not agree with it.
Make sure that you are arguing or presenting a point that is valid for your statement and purpose of your paper. If you arguing that fast food is good in a diet, but your counter view is about global warming, well that isn't going to help you prove your point.

When you bring up the opposing view, address it then answer it with something to back your point of view up. Also state who is the author of the counter argument.

Remember not to seem as if you are fighting with yourself, that is weird, and your reader will get confused.


Gif credit

Just on a little side note for self improvement. I will be doing 1 push-up for every 1$ earned on my posts and will give a short feedback every day at the end of each post. As promised I will be doing 73 pushups, today, for yesterdays post. Any not done will carry onto the next day. 20 is carried over to the next day.

Sort:  

How are the pushups from yesterday going? Ready for the New ones to come?

Not ready but I have to do it, I was quite sore and stiff in the beginning of this challenge

Well written.. Opposing viewpoint with valid data works best..

Good read :) Thank you for sharing. And good luck with the pushups. 33 so far :D

Thank you I am getting to a stage where I can do 80 per day

That's pretty good!!!

Always write from the heart. If you copy other people you lose uniqueness.

That is very true.

Thanks for sharing, you're going to be very fit after all these pushup. Who will be keeping you honest? :-)

I have a paper and pen next to my desk where I mark it off, once I have reached 5000 pushups I will put out a post with a before and after picture.

Nice! Great point about the opposing view and making sure that you don't appear to be fighting with yourself. LOL.... it can happen!!

I find it actually really entertaining when the writer does this. Even I have done this at times.

Reversed Psychology in writing!....That is dope, gonna try it out.

Hello, @dragonslayer109 🐉

This is the kind of post that makes me wish that Steemit has a save for later button 👆.

I also went through your blog and found other resourceful post. I can't imagine how I have been missing your post all this while. Thanks for this.

Followed you and I am sharing this on twitter.

@ogochukwu

I suggest you bookmark it, hopefully they will add a favourite button so you can save the posts.

I write all my 2fa and crypto urrency private key codes anpasswords on PAPER by HAND and it scares me to think only I can understand my ownwriting! And sometims y own handwriting is so bad it scares e i need to write better to store my own hand wrottenpadsswords!

I am the grandson of a doctor so my hand writing is super bad.

I just added to your push up count, enjoy @dragonslayer109

full steem ahead!

hahaha thank you. One day I will hopefully look like a beast

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45