You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dog, what a time to be a writer.

in #writing7 years ago

I've felt this way since the dawn of the computer age and especially the beginning of the Internet. The web creates a living collective consciousness that nearly everyone can access. As long as we keep it from being centralized it will stand as the ultimate democratizing force.

I love blockchain for that reason alone. Hopefully blockchain or its next iteration will continue to protect and preserve a decentralized Internet for all of us to share and profit from. Profit meaning far more than money. Things like access to people, resources and knowledge. Truly an awesome time for idealists and dreamers.

Sort:  

An excellent point. I've been asked quite often by my history students if I'd be willing to go back to 1978 if I got a billion dollars for it. And the answer is not just no, but hell no. In theory I could give up the internet, Amazon, Spotify, and all the rest, but what I couldn't give up is access to all the micro-communities that use the net to develop their interests, and I couldn't give up the access to the world's knowledge, right here, at the push of a button. That's wealth, as you say. Wealth unimaginable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50