You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So You Think You Can Write Dance?

in #writing7 years ago

I couldn't agree more with everything you've said here. I remember my mother used to always tell me "Jane, you need to smile more onstage." And I was like "Uh...mom? This isn't a pageant. This is dance." I can't even count the number of times when I have been unable to stop the tears from streaming down my cheeks, while performing a dance routine. In fact, I still do it. I can't help it. There is just so much emotion involved. I can go through an entire box of tissues watching episodes of SYTYCD. (ok, well full disclosure..I cry. A LOT.) But combining music with dance is an indescribable spiritual experience. I cannot live without either of those things. Hell, I'm tearing up just thinking about it right now. I should probably seriously consider purchasing stock in Kleenex. I know that it's considered gauche to post links into comments, so I won't post the link here. But, if you've not seen it yet, there is a video for a song called "Easier" by Mansionair. It features this pair of dancers, but their bodies have been...pixilated..or fractled..or whatever it's called. It's one of the most hauntingly sublime videos I have ever seen. (not to mention the song is extraordinarily beautiful.) If you are so inclined, please do check it out. I'm confident you will truly appreciate the majesty of it. It was very soothing to read this post. I suffer high anxiety, and the intent of dance that you described helps me to be able to deal with some of that.
Upvoted and resteemed. And following now.

Sort:  

Hello Jane. Thank you so much for sharing. I too succumb to physical symptoms to emotions when watching dance. Do you get the skin tingles with certain powerful pieces of music?

That video, wow. Thank you for introducing me! That is so very different, and so very needed...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64863.39
ETH 3196.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53