Conjunction, junction, what's your function?

in #writing6 years ago

Some time ago, I wrote an article about those little words that are the grease of English prose. Words like:

a
an
and
so
to
it
is

I use those words and others like them to make my sentences flow like the way that I talk. They are the grease that keeps my prose moving.

Well, the other night, while waiting for a birthday girl to arrive at our house, I was watching this video with my kids:

It's called "Conjunction, Junction" and I have used the chorus line in the song for that video as the title for this article. What I loved about that video is that it showed me how to hook ideas up together in a sentence and I just never forgot it.

Conjunction, Junction is filled with writing logic and tips about how to use words like and, or, but, and a few others to fill in the idea. If you find that you are a bit challenged with writing, this video may provide you with some pointers on how to improve your writing style. Yes, it's made for kids, but I have found that I can always learn something new from old material. And I used to watch that video when I was a kid, yet I still find it relevant to me today.

Conjunction, Junction was created and produced for a series of educational shorts called, "Schoolhouse Rock!" for the ABC television network back in the 1970's, and was designed to fit into the Saturday morning TV slots. Back then, I was into the cartoons from Saturday morning and somehow I got hooked on Schoolhouse Rock. I'm glad to see that they found a new home on YouTube and have enjoyed playing a few Schoolhouse Rock! videos for my kids.

There are a few more videos on grammar, but there are many more on science, civics and economics, too. As I read the Wikipedia page on the topic of Schoolhouse Rock!, I can see that it started out as a commercial venture, but still turned out to be a very educational, very useful series of cartoons for kids. I'm glad that it worked out so well, and I think it did because the man who started it all, he wanted his kid to improve his grasp of the multiplication tables.

I hope you enjoy the video and that you find that it helps you with your grammar. It did for me and I still carry the concepts that I learned from it, to this day. I realize now that Conjunction, Junction is one of the biggest influences on my writing style today. That's why I'm sharing it with you now.

Write on.


slogan by @tecnosgirl
Slogan by @tecnosgirl


Other articles you might enjoy by @digitalfirehose:



Plan B for Humanity

A basic guaranteed income in the context of Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs

A sort of political movie review: Star Wars: Rogue One

Happiness isn't getting everything you want - happiness is a skill

The opposite of love is not hate, it is apathy

Fate, impunity and altruism

A short but growing list of people I admire, who have helped me, and/or influenced me, my thinking and/or my posts:

Sort:  

Congratulations @digitalfirehose! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Good way to teach english...it help to improve english

This excellent post was included in the latest issue of The Inbox Runneth Over. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way, and your support for this project and especially its occupants would be very much appreciated. Thank you for everything. Have a lovely day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83