Mind tricks

in #writing7 years ago

TextArt_180205111045.jpg

I've taken pieces of you
And folded them into little shapes
They reflect things I thought we could be
Things I want to believe we are
You should see them, they're beautiful
On display in the depths of my heart
I decided to carve them out of clay
To make them more resilient

I dreamed of building a bold structure
One that stood the test of time
And that had so much more to offer
Than just two smiling faces
Slowly I realized that I had blocks
Blocks of you and I and so
I started placing them where they might fit
And before I knew it I had a puzzle
Constructed from all we gave to one another
Brushed with all we have yet to give
It was a beautiful structure
But something was missing still

I searched and searched for the right material
The raw ingredients needed for good foundations
And I came up empty every time
Finding myself exhausted over and over
Then finally it came to me in an instant
After what we'd built came tumbling down
Crumbling into a thousand pieces before my eyes
My mind a jumble a puzzle now unsolvable
For I'd forgotten the stability to sustain wasn't there
In fact, it never really was
I'd simply believed it to be
Because I'd made this into something it wasn't

It was obvious what I did
I took pieces of you
And folded them into shapes
To reflect all that we could be
Things I thought we were
But you'd never taken pieces of me
Nor craved the sight of my reflection
For only I'd desired such depth
And built you up inside my head
I made you into someone who I could connect with
By using all that I found in you
Created similarities that never did exist
By giving your qualities a fun little twist

The only complexity in this simple action
Is that I really should have left those pieces where they belonged
And let you grow naturally to see who I'd really find
Instead of watering seeds of potential with my mind
And you know, it's funny how the mind plays tricks
All because it's desperate for a treat
But when will it ever realize
That treats don't taste as sweet when you make them alone?

I wanted a foundation that wouldn't break in rough weather
That exudes warmth, security and love
But I won't find any of the above
Without mutual construction of this building
So hey, if you see pieces of us on the floor
Just know that I've left the mess for you to do what you want
I've untangled me from webs of feeling and thought
And decided I can't figure this out by myself
If you'd at all like to build something out of this
And create the security we both long for
Then maybe you can show me where I went wrong
Or perhaps you'd just like to sweep this stuff up before you leave

Sort:  

Congratulations @dgtoons! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67