Steemit is cool. I'm cool. What could go wrong?

in #writing8 years ago

So, here's the deal.

I write. If you ask me what I am deep down, way below the surface, I'd tell you: I'm a writer.

Lately though, I've been speaking more than I've been writing. You know - Periscope, Facebook Live, Busker - the works.

But God damn it, being an early adopter is time-consuming. Especially when it's about more than that.

##The Live Streaming Craze##

See, these platforms are all about relationships. And, as a social media person, I've been waiting for something like live streaming for years.

Seriously. Every time I went to sleep I'd hug my sloth and think: "When?! When are they gonna come up with something innovative, progressive and, above all, cool?"

Yeah, I've got a sloth. But that's a whole other story.

Stay focused!

I mean sure, I've got my Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest: but it's not the same. I've got my blog: but it's still not the same.

At first I thought: yeah, right. This is something for celebrities - who else's gonna just stand in front of a camera and talk to people? Who's even gonna watch? What would I say?

But then I thought: fuck it. I'll bite.

So I tried it out.

And I loved it.

I found in live streaming something that had always been missing from social media sites: a chance to be truly authentic.

So, I've been doing this for a while. I found out that if I use live streaming to bring value to people, rather than just talk about myself, they'll appreciate it - and even want more.

And not in a creepy peeping Tom kinda way.

##On The Search For Something New##

It's been a few months since I started live streaming, and, because I'm one of those curious, easily bored, always-searching-for-more humans, I started looking into some new stuff.

I found some new social media platforms, but I didn't see potential.

20 minutes ago, that changed.

20 minutes ago, I came across Steemit - and, FML, this is amazing.

This is out-of-this-world, fuck-everything-I've-ever-known, throw-my-bra-at-the-people-who-created it amazing.

This.Is.Genius.

See, I don't know that much about cryptocurrencies - just the basics. I know how they came to live, why they came to live and how they work.

And I've always loved the concept behind them.

But I've never loved any concept more than the one Steemit is built on:

"Blogging as the new mining"

Really?! My head just exploded a little bit, so with my brain scattered all over my room, these are my thoughts right now:

@daniellarimer @nedscott - you guys are ROCK STARS.

See, I usually dream about strangling people and feeding them their stuffed teddy bears... oh no wait, that's what I dream about on Valentine's day.

What I meant is, I usually dream about finding a way to establish deeper connections with people and having a cool platform to do it on. I dream about being a part of something insanely creative and new - because being an early adopter is the bomb, right?

Right?

Well... drum roll I think I've found that in Steemit!

##When You Encounter Pure Genius##

As a business owner and a self-proclaimed badass, I understand that creating something should never be done with the intention of making money. It should be done with the intention of making a difference - and, since it is a business after all - filling a gap.

So I just wanted to create my first post here as a tribute to the awesome people behind Steemit. I believe this will (and already is) become a groundbreaking platform and a place for people to showcase their talents, share their feelings and even make some Steam dollars in the mean time.

Really, guys: I love it. The way you've managed to connect blogging to mining and cryptocurrencies: it combines two worlds that used to be totally separate.

One was mine, and the other one was something I never thought I'd understand - but now I'm motivated to.

Thank you for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44