Language Functions for Writers

in #writing7 years ago

I'm really interested in the functions of language

and when I hear people (especially politicians!) speak, I try to figure out the intent of the sentence.
Is it directive? trying to maintain a relationship? clarifying a personal thought ? telling a story?

All of the above are functions of speaking language; they happen in writing as well and I must say thankfully we have created other languages such as mathematics and music.

Math and music can lead us somewhere our regular language can not.

There are about 70 language functions? ( I'll leave that to the linguists to decide! ) Anyways, one day I had the idea of finding those functions in popular songs.

One language function is called the "Identifying One's self to Others" function.

Greetings, Farewells, and Apologies play a huge part of our everyday life, but how could we create relationships without the Identifying Oneself to Others function?

What's interesting to me is how many songwriters use it in their songs.

"Please allow me to introduce myself. I'm a man of wealth and fame." Jagger/Richards – Sympathy for the Devil

"I was born in a crossfire hurricane." Jagger/Richards – Jumpin Jack Flash

"I'm a creep I'm a weirdo."Creep -Thom Yorke

“I’m broke, but I’m happy, I’m poor, but I’m kind.” Alanis Morrisette - Hand in My Pocket

Johnny Cash identifies himself as The Man in Black.

Lady Gaga identifies herself in Born This Way.

In 1967, John Lennon in the Beatles put an amazing twist on this language function.
"I am he as you are he as you are me and we are all together."
I am the Walrus.

Here's another,
"I'm a man of means by no means – King of the road.”
King of the Road - Roger Miller.

By now I'm sure you get the picture.
Do you have a song that identifies you to others, to your friends, your audience?
Wouldn’t your audience like to know who you are?

I'll write more about language functions in songs in the weeks to come, so feel free to follow me @dereksworld

All the best! D.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66186.90
ETH 3555.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15