Are We the Modern Day "Village Scribes" and Story Tellers?

in #writing7 years ago

I write in a personal journal, pretty much every morning. 

I have been doing this, since I was a kid... back then, starting to "record things" in exercise books as a pre-teen, because I had this feeling that the daily facts I was writing down would be "interesting" to come back later, and to have as a record of what had happened in various past parts of my life. 

Cactus
Cactus blossom with spiderweb, California

There's also a part of me that is drawn towards "what really happened," as opposed to "what people thought happened."

That's a pet peeve of mine... this "revision of facts" people often engage in, as a result of which something truly horrible (usually) gets upgraded to "not that bad" when the rose-colored lenses of passing time are applied.

This morning, I got to thinking about how-- in centuries gone by-- I would probably have been the "village scribe" who kept a record of comings and goings and events in my village. 

I might even have been the official "town story teller" who handed down information about the village's history. Not so sure about the latter, though, as I am not really that much of a story teller, in the entertainment sense of the word. I just enjoy writing down "what actually happened," and "what I observed," moreso than creating new stories, fiction style.

In my life, this is reflected by the fact that I call myself a writer, but actually have very little interest in "writing a novel," but plenty of interest in writing about practical self-help and "real life."

I prefer to leave fiction to those with an actual talent for it.

Cactus
Cactus blossom, near Joshua Tree,, California

What brought this on is that we will soon start working in the garden, because spring now seems to be fully here, and I felt it would be a good idea to "keep a record" of our efforts, and of what is blooming and growing where, and what is doing well, and what is not. 

My parents kept an extensive and beautiful garden when I was a child, and my mother always "kept a record," from year to year... of what was planted where, and which vegetables gave us a lot, and which didn't, and so forth.

The irony of all this is that History was traditionally my weakest subject in school... and yet, my favorite type of writing is-- in essence-- "recording history."

Also made me wonder whether we-- as a group of bloggers-- are really the modern day equivalent of the "village scribes" from days gone by.

What about YOU? What is your favorite type of writing? Do you like to write about things that actually happened? Or do you prefer personal stories? Do you dream of writing fiction (like novels) or poetry or some other form of creative expression? Do you see yourself as more of a "story teller" or a "reporter/recorder?" Aside from writing online, do you keep a personal journal, or other form of journal? Leave a comment-- start the conversation!

(As always, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

Yes you are a scribe and a historian! It's very interesting that you started writing things down as a kid. I'm sure that it marked you as unique from an early age.

When I was a boy I remember many girls, including my sisters keeping diaries but I don't remember any boys doing it.

Your training has served you well because I enjoy your snippets of history!

I also like writing facts. If the facts can teach a lesson and contain some humour all the better.

I would never have the patience needed to write a book! For me short and sweet!

In thinking about it, I probably don't have the patience, either, to write a book... unless it were maybe a collection of related articles, patched together... wait, no... if that were the case, I'd probably already have done it.

You're right, there were not a lot of boys keeping journals when I was little. I think it came about for me because we were moving so often, from country to country, and I wanted to "remember" something of what each place was like, so I would write and save postcards and so on. After a time, it just became a habit... and I never stopped, at least not for longer than a few months.

You're a historian, too, @kus-knee-- your anecdotes are interesting, entertaining and often unique views into what's happening in your corner of the world.

Sometimes I whish to write a fantasy book:) But this project is still in my "will do one day" list. And when it comes to blog I prefer storys. And yes, I do have a personal journal, for writing three pages in the morning using Julia Cameron system, to free my head from intrusive thoughts:)

Ah yes! The Artists Way... I'm another fan of Julia Cameron's work; have been doing the "morning pages" for many years, and it really is very good for the creative "ignition."

I'm sure your fantasy book will come around, in time!

Yes.yes! All her books:) I'm on the middle of the first one, working chapter by chapter:)
Yep, I'm sure I'll do it when the right time will come:)

Thanks for popping by my profile so i could jump to yours! Awesome post! Take care

Thank you @uwelang, always nice to have you visit!

My personal "journal" is the thousands of artworks I've created of subjects that I fell in love with and sparked the urge to record in permanent form.

Yes, the format doesn't have to be "words;" it's just a creative outpouring of what we feel at a particular time... and even then, it may only hold deeper meaning for ourselves, on a personal level.

You've probably read this book already, but if not, you might want to check out "Writing Down The Bones" by Natalie Goldberg.

Yes, that's a great book-- have it here in my collection of writing books.

She lived in Taos when I was there. I got to meet her and I have an autographed copy! 😎😀

In my life, this is reflected by the fact that I call myself a writer, but actually have very little interest in "writing a novel," but plenty of interest in writing about practical self-help and "real life." -----> Yeah... me too ! In writing we can adjust our words, have time to thinking how to express our thinking and feeling. I remember a sentence at 13 Warrior movie, "Can you draw voice ?". The viking ask to the Arabian how to draw a voice (writing) and he showed how to write "Kalimat Syahadat" (sorry I write in Indonesian words), that is like kind of confesion words about God. So that's why writing is important beside talking directly. With writing we can leave a history note to our next generation. Anyway nice posting ! :)

@happyphoenix, thanks for sharing your thoughts! Indeed, we do leave a small history note for the future... and sometimes what we leave is just something creative, not just words, but also drawings, paintings, songs, poems.

Very nice post, my friend.
I barely used to write at all other than work and emails - I just got out of the habit. Then I got the inspiration to write a novel ... it is coming along.
With steemit I have rediscovered the fun of being creative. The more you do, the more you do ... it is one of those things.
The one thing I have never been is a journal writer. I wish I had been!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77