You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pieces Of You

in #writing7 years ago

Wow, awesome story debralee. It has sadness but awesome to have photos to put with names and stories. Gives one a sense of knowing if only a little. You know I totally relate.

Sort:  

Thanks! I love learning about family history. I've searched ancetory.com and gained much knowledge from it. :)

Yw and me too! I didn't have much luck on ancestry but mostly because my dad was an only child and Baltimore lost a lot of records in a big fire. My mom's mothers name was spelled wrong and never found any info (could be the researcher..me) though. I did eventually find some of my moms history on a site called rootsweb.

It's a shame that your family records were lost in that fire. I've only had one road block so far. My Grandma Maggie's mom was at least half Cherokee Indian. I have found very little on her & nothing of anyone before her.

I also have not looked up anything overseas yet. I may check out rootsweb. :)

Good luck! I found census records and couple of little things on Ancestry. It was a critical year so it was disheartening. My mom finally remembered some family names and that's how I found a lot of them and saw the misspelling. Turns out she had a big family but unfortunately I don't know many of the remaining family. It is what it is but those photos are truly a great thing to have. Weird thing is I found a photo of a great great grandmother on google and a photo of a grandfather on google..go figure!

Thanks! I hope you are somehow able to find more someday. I agree, the pictures are a lot and priceless.

It really is amazing what you can find on google. My grandma Maggie waited until I was in my 30's to let me know about and have the items from Omer.

My dad was never responsible so I am glad she understood to save them for me. I am sure dad would have lost them.

Yw! I am happy you have them = )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51