Dear Governor - Ep 3

in #writing7 years ago

 Dear Governor Matugas,   

My name is Andrew McIntosh. I am Australian. I was a tourist in your country, and I have been fortunate. Truthfully, also honored, and privleged to have been welcomed and embraced by the community of Siargao, especially the people residing in the municipality of General Luna.   

I first ventured to the tropical island with my sister Jane on a surfing adventure, wow, what a great time we had! So good in fact, that I negoitiated a long term lease on a parcel of land at Tuason Pt, Catangnan, actually just along the beach from Siargao Blu. How time flies fast Governor, that was 13 years ago!  

 Thirteen years of great adventure and genuine happiness, up until one day recently, that is, when BANG! How quickly things can change, it always surprises me, as since that day, a horrendous day, its been ordinary, really ordinary Governor and absolutely wrong. Yes! Absolutely!   

I recognize fully the length of this letter, however, its your reputation of understanding and unfaltering community support, that dictates this entire narrative essential.   The legacy of your own work, combined with your families’ numerous projects, is progressing, commendable and absolutely special. Indeed yes, therefore, the actions of one individual against the back drop of an epic family montage, I intend to inform you, will trigger emotions of horror and pure anger.   

Perhaps even terror Governor, as one, in my own mind, off centre and unbalanced individual, is influencing and poisoning the attitude and behavior of a large and curiously loyal flock. Thus, I believe the future of your island home, its community and environmental longevity, is currently not aligned with a desirable, positive legacy for the Matugas family. Its absolutely doubtful.   

My personal future, that being the one I had carefully planned, groomed and worked towards daily, is not in doubt. Not in doubt as its already been stripped away. Gone. Stolen from me Governor. Its wrong, its draining my spirit, and to be absolutely honest, no apologies for my choice of words, its fucked, really, really fucked!   

And now I can hear your murmur of disapproval – Andrew – terrible choice of gutter terminology, inappropriate at best. 

Well, yes, I agree, but I agree with those that will never own or appreciate the honesty, the honesty that those words represent Governor!   

It is often overlooked or unknown by many that honesty, integrity and self-respect are all free of charge, no need to pay. Well actually they are not for sale – hence the importance.   The importance is so great that yesterday, last week, last month and even this morning, when all has been stripped away, no physical possessions left, I am safe in the knowledge that they are still intact and can not be taken away.   Again fortunate.   

Fortunate that when my world was being savaged, vicisouly attacked and falsified by flock members, intent on pursuing an agenda, an agenda inherently flawed, manufactured with creepy accuracy, purely to facilitate financial gain and to caress the delusional ambitions of apparent success by a single individual – there they were!   

Just like the North Star, ever reliable – honesty, integrity and self-respect. And, how perfect it is, absolutely free of charge.   Those principles have been washed away, like the old Cloud 9 tower and walkway, they are gone, unlikeley to return. Victims of a modern day “Tropical” paradox - Aliens from far away lands wanting to stay in Siargao for the simple life, without the trappings of the developed nations, wanting to live with the modern day Filipino who has signed up to the American Dream. The mix is explosive Governor and shrapnel will be coming your way! 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56