Boozy Rant 17: Sober Consideration, Drink, Pen and Paper (SOBER INSTALLMENT)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of August 29, 20184_30-6_00 PMRoom 204.jpg


The Sober

My go-to game when wi-fi is down [Image Source]
As of the writing of this post, there had been no booze that had been consumed. It is 17:19, my wi-fi bandwidth connection just went down and I am slightly irritable. I could do with a bit of a swig of that Ballantine’s but what better parts of myself that remains is reserved, not from an impulse bedded temperance but rather that it would become progressively difficult to operate for the remainder of the evening and despite the jests that I have made about my being an alcoholic, I think that I can say haven’t yet gotten to that point.

Choice Of Poison When Writing

I loved this image so much, it seems alright to use it again.[Image Source]
I typically write the Boozy Rant later in the evening with a choice of blended scotch or bourbon that won’t slap me around the room. Single Malts and high proof bourbons have the effect of distracting me from the writing, with me opting to experience the dram rather than process thoughts and words into comprehensive compilations. So blends blandness and expensive bourbon are a rational choice, which also is, by consequence, a sign of my not being as far gone as I often make out to be. The goal is to be relaxed enough to get the cerebral juices going, to help with wit, flow and, maybe more importantly, the sexiness needed to keep readers wet and wanting.

A Balance

I'll let this here meme justify my drinking. [Image Source]
The Whiskey Talk post are a lengthy process that is a combination of research, vocal notes and a summation of those in the writing out of that piece. The work is a measure of sharpness for the sake of paying attention to details and tipsy massaging of the whole in the writing part of the enterprise. So the different between this work and the Boozy Rant is notable if one cares to see such things. My point being that I am capable of some restraint when need be.

The Excuse

I have a cold... the hell are you looking at? [Image Source]
That being said, I do prefer penning under the bottle than sober. It fulfils the cliché of being a write, softens or crystalizes concepts according to their trivial nature or importance making you rabid or flippant about thing. Writing sober has the disadvantage of overthinking, over processing and, drafting and redrafting pieces. So there is a great deal of doubt about what one is going about doing.

More Excuses... And A Kevin Spacey Joke... Was That Too Soon?

With the power of the hooch... I can do anything [Image Source]
That’s not to say it’s impossible to write sober, I am only speaking for myself and those who find it difficult to put together a sentence under normal circumstances. They might belong to the tradition of writers given to some vice, innocent or serious. And by serious I wish to be understood to mean heavy substance use or any habit that is focused on the scribbler rather than include others like the kind taken up by Kevin Spacey which benefit from the cliché of the artist, which is not that much different from those of the writer. They are somewhat the same animal, I think.
DON'T FORGET TO UPVOTE, LEAVE A COMMENT, RESTEEM AND FOLLOW IF YOU ENJOYED THIS POST, OTHERWISE MY BOOZE STOCK WILL FALL CAUSING, PERHAPS, THE SINGLE GREATEST DISASTER IN THE HISTORY OF STUFF AND THINGS.



APP.png

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 0.93 % from @appreciator thanks to: @deadsparrow.

nice
follow done

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87