The Foundation of My Dreams

in #writing8 years ago

Hey Steemers!
I am in the process of applying to nursing school right now (keep your fingers crossed for me, please!) and it has required me to reflect on the how's and why's of developing my passion for healthcare. Below is an essay that I wrote describing some of my mentality and my journey to where I am today. Hope you enjoy!

I began college at UC Davis as a declared Psychology major. I was unsure whether I wanted to pursue clinical psychology or a position in the medical field. I knew that I was fascinated by the brain- its anatomy, functionality, and all the ways it makes us human. I knew that I loved connecting with people, and that learning about the mechanisms and patterns behind those connections excited me. As I progressed through college, I was drawn towards classes that explored the physiology of the brain and body. I developed an appreciation for the incredible machinery that we operate every day.


Human Gross Anatomy was the most rewarding educational experience of my career thus far. It was the first and only time I experienced no degree of separation from the material presented; the class provided visceral exposure to human physicality. The opportunity to work with human cadavers clarified my career path: I wanted to work in the medical field. I wanted a role in enhancing and maintaining health, in preserving the dynamic homeostasis of the human body.
My psychology major has contributed to this goal, as knowledge gleaned from such classes will allow me to better understand and connect with future patients. It has also made me more aware of the mind-body connection and the codependent relationship between mental and physical health. I hope to incorporate this into my future practice in order to treat patients holistically, preventatively, and sustainably. My experience with a nonprofit organization called MEDLIFE solidified my belief in these principles.

The UC Davis chapter of MEDLIFE embarked on a medical clinic to Cusco, Peru that crafted my conception of medicine. I believe that it should be an ongoing interaction between patient and doctor, a balance between providing and educating. MEDLIFE’s emphasis on education and sustainable care struck me during clinic. I gave many children their first toothbrush after teaching them how to brush their teeth; we led stretching workshops with patients suffering from chronic back pain due to years of manual labor. I participated with curiosity and awe as patients’ immediate needs were attended to and everyday habits were addressed. One elderly woman approached me to say that she was pre-diabetic and unable to afford insulin should it become necessary. Together we spoke to a doctor and worked out a nutritional guideline for her to follow. I later received an email from the doctor saying that her symptoms had reversed. It was incredibly moving to realize that this improvement was possible because she had taken control of her health. I have been on two additional clinics, and each has deepened my belief that medicine serves best when it provides patients with information to continuously better their own health.

I believe that earning my B.S.N will allow me to participate in health care through my specific lens. I intend to proceed with an open and curious mind through the remainder of my education, and look forward to being able to apply it in clinical settings.

Sort:  

affirmations are so powerful. thank you for this!

You are welcome. In twenty years, when you will get tired of medicate people, try Shiatsu. :)

I cheer for you dream.

Salute! I appreciate your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63