Sort:  

Ow, thank you again for the tips, Damian.

You're welcome. Thanks for reading.

I think one reason why abstract concepts are still used is that it feels more artistic when all this indistinct eloquence is being tossed around. It implies deep meaning that simple words just can't convey.

I also think the other reason is that it gives the writer an excuse to be lazy. He doesn't have to explain anything in particular; he lets the reader attach whatever meaning he wishes to the words. I will suggest that sometimes it works well; sometimes I want to be given interesting, nebulous ideas and allow my own specific emotions and background to find meaning in them. I think that also is what puts that kind of poetry at a distance, since it forces the reader to do exactly that. It becomes an investment of effort that some folks just don't want to partake in.

As a result, unpacking things into clear words shows the reader exactly what's going on. It may be less subject to interpretation, but probably more accessible to a broader audience.

For sure, there is a belief found in many novice writers that poetry should be abstract, a struggle to understand and maybe even somewhat confusing. I believe people have this idea because this is how they felt when they were given older poetry to read, outside of the modern vernacular, when they were at school. Of course that was going to be confusing. Anyone faced by older poetry who's not accustomed to reading it is going to find it challenging at first. But that's not because it's poetry – that's because of the antique language.

I also agree, there is a place for abstractions in poetry, especially when it's warranted by the core idea, logical process or theme. That's when it really can add.

For the reader though, you're right, it's presenting them with more of a struggle.

And your last line says it all. You can write poetry any way you want, to be honest. This session and all the others I'm presenting are about what to do if you want to make your work reader focussed.

As always, Neg, thanks for reading and following along.

I love this so much. I think it has lessons for all creative writing, honestly. Abstract concepts don't help us connect with what the piece is about or make sense of it in terms of the physical world.

I think often of The Red Wheelbarrow by William Carlos Williams, and how powerful a piece it is because it helps us see that lonely wheelbarrow out in the garden and imagine what may depend upon it.

I totally agree. And The Red Wheelbarrow is a good example. Poems like that create a narrative which extends beyond the page and into the imagination. Good poetry does that, while also encapsulating a single theme.

And yes, all of this very much applies to prose as well.

Thanks for reading Jayna. Lots more to come.

You have a great niche here, and you’re inspiring a lot of people. Thank you for the awesome instruction.

Excellent piece! I'm sure I will find occasion to forward this to poets and writers alike.

It's ironic though that the final lines from Keats do the exact opposite of all the advice you've given — they tell without showing. You could insert within them any of those loathsome aphorisms:

'Positive thoughts bring you positive results. Positive results, positive thoughts.' – that is all
Ye know on earth, and all ye need to know.

But I know you're already aware of this irony, so I eagerly await your next piece on subverting the don't tell rule through hypodiegetic devices.

Looking forward to more in the series!

Thanks for that. Glad you liked and kudos for spotting the irony. I'm sure the use of the hypodiegetic device helps, but Keats ultimately gets away with it because of his situated ethos and the fact that he's speaking ex cathedra.

I just had to read another one of your posts before powering off for the night. Thank you is all I can say Sir! You have yet again succeeded in enlightening your audience ( that'd be me!) and brought more light into this often darkened world.

I know what you mean. I believe the basic of showing your reader the imagery of the poem is to create a concrete scenario and describe or narrate the scene like you would in a short story with all the small details... Thanks for the tip @damianjayclay!

You're welcome. Thanks for reading. Lots more to come :)

Very informative post! Thank you for the helpful tips, maybe on the next time I write poems, I'll be mindful of showing and not more on telling. :)

Thanks for reading :)

O @damianjayclay!
Knowest thou that poetry runs in thy blood?
Thy phronesis of the poetics is 'till fresh as the classical age.

Without giving to any exacerbated hyperbole, you are at the same level of John Donne, Alexander Pope, Williams Wordsworth et al.

Keep doing the good work, Boss!

The post above teaches us how to make a poet,
thank you very much, upvoted already, Sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66