Sort:  

It's nice to know some of the backstory and thinking behind the reasons you go for a certain arrangement of words, versus just how the arrangement itself looks on a superficial level. The logic of it makes sense.

Yeah. I remember when I first started learning this stuff I thought -- wow there is in fact some kind of process. Thanks for reading!

Wonderful lesson, @damianjayclay. There's so much great stuff here. The information about that impactful end word is a huge revelation to me! I love that you have your own tag. This will help me look for all of your poetry lessons.

Thanks for reading, Jayna. I'm glad you're enjoying them. For most people, the end words thing is strange when they're first told it, because as soon as they find out it's often something they realise they already understood.

Yes, that was my feeling exactly. I read this post after writing and submitting a poem to the Kudos contest. Then I went back to my poem and saw that I didn’t do too badly on this score, at least. 😊

Some of the best guidance is often somewhat intuitive, I think, and it makes for some of the best ah-ha’s. The information makes good sense, and yet you wouldn’t put it into practice thoughtfully or consistently until someone shared that knowledge with you. Thanks again!

A rich post, with lots of things to think about.
Thank you for putting so much effort in your poetry lessons, it really helps me a lot in writing poetry. Not sure it shows yet, but at least now I feel I have something to think about while I write it, not just going blindly anymore. That's enormously precious, so thank you!

You're welcome. I'm glad you're getting so much out of them. Four more to go in this series. I think that, when they're done, they'll form a decent primer. Thanks for reading!

I still have so much to learn about line breaks and poetry. But at least I am starting to understand why you recommend some of your changes. I will figure it out a bit eventually--just need to develop that gut feeling with some intelligence.

Thanks for reading. Yes, I'm hoping when I start doing the live editing sessions there will be more of the same. Maybe parts of the process I just take for granted and wouldn't think to write about.

Congratulations @damianjayclay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This was a really great read. I have been wanting to improve my poetry and find new ways to make it more exciting . I really like the point you made about the ending words in the poetry lines. They really did make a huge difference when you changed them around. It made me more excited about reading the rest of the poem when the ending words were more dramatic.

Another great entry in the series—thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66