The One Exception: Chapter 11 'The Credit Card'

in #writing7 years ago

Another interesting instance revolves around the use of a company credit card. A package needed to be shipped in order to not inconvenience a customer. One of the staff mentioned it and recommended having it shipped via a local carrier. This sort of thing is handled by the 'One Exception' and we set out to get it done.

Of course, there's a snag. The 'One Exception' demanded petty cash to perform the shipment, to which I responded that I've used my company credit card on several occasions with the local carrier with no issues and use of the company credit card is preferred to using petty cash. This didn't sit well with the 'One Exception' and she strenuously complained that she needed cash & that she would not make two trips.

Rather than continue with this very pointless conversation, I told the 'One Exception' to disregard the request, I would handle it myself. She then changed tactics & stated that her company card didn't work like mine. I said that she need not bother. It took me 15 minutes to get the package shipped & paid for with my company credit card.

I documented the episode & sent it to my boss for informational purposes only, along with a copy of the receipt showing payment via credit card. I requested that her company card be able to make purchases similar to mine & my counterpart. No further action was requested, nor desired. It did though become an issue because the 'One Exception' chose to complain to my boss.

I find it interesting to note that the counseled course of action is to simply accede to her demands to keep things simple & keep the peace. Enabling… I don't do 'enabling' bad behavior well.

Sort:  

Congratulations @d4rkc4rgo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58661.64
ETH 2723.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32