I am the android

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I am the android

original poetry
& writing


Fantasy-Art-Images-12918.jpg


Fantasy-Art-Images-12918 (5).jpg

Introduction

Will the human race
undergo fragmentation?

Though a disturbing topic for many (and therefore not much discussed) the dilemma of transhumanism is imminent in the not-too-distant future. In short, humanity will be facing choices as to the degree of technological and biological augmentation that we, collectively and individually, find morally/philosophically acceptable. It begins innocuously with the realization that we can now replace such and such part of the body to extend the lifespan, and gradually ramps up with the augmentation of these parts to have "superior" characteristics to their biological counterparts. Some will be vehemently opposed to tampering with the human organism beyond what is necessary to save a life; for others transhumanism will become something of a religion to be wholeheartedly accepted. Of course, many will fall in between the extremes. This leads to the question: Will humanity become fragmented into a potentially infinite number of (overlapping) new "sub-species" based on the degree of modifications which are performed on them both genetically and mechanically?

A science fiction book that explores this question in a rather entertaining way is the book Schismatrix by Bruce Sterling, published in 1985. It definitely is a book intended for adults, so be forewarned. If you like science fiction I would recommend reading it. In the universe of this book, the main factions of humanity are the Shapers and Mechanists. The Shapers favor modification of their genetics such that they have biologically enhanced intelligence, senses, longevity, etc. The Mechanists rely on high-technological prosthetic enhancement of the senses and replace many parts of their bodies with machine parts. The complex and contradictory nature of the two factions' relationship is explored, which is unfortunately plagued by violence and relative lack of understanding.

Note that time frame for the question posed here is quite vast. We are talking about hundreds, thousands, and even millions of years of technological advancement. However, the dilemma of transhumanism is relevant even today. Since it is a bit different than the topics normally explored in my posts, I wanted to write this introduction to provide context to the reader. Actually though - it is quite pertinent to the ideas of meaning, spirit, emotion, humanity, soul, etc. - because it causes us to wonder what the essential elements are which make us alive, which make us human. If the image portrayed in this poem is a bit bleak, know that it is only one of many "potential futures." It is also dramatized, to be entertaining to read. As always, all feedback is very welcome! (Note: all images in this article are original pieces by various artists to illustrate older science fiction novels, which have now entered the public domain. Nevertheless, I would include the credits to the authors if I knew. Alas! If you recognize any of them, let me know!)

Fantasy-Art-Images-12918 (4).jpg


Fantasy-Art-Images-13000.jpg


Fantasy-Art-Images-13000 (2).jpg

Reading Notes

Stanza 1 & 2

(I am the android...trinary code.)

The narrator-android introduces itself as the world circuitry & its children who live inside its skin and aid in programming its technological manifestations on a quantum (trinary) level.

Stanza 3

(I did not teach...engine in its cage.)

The narrator-android explains the semi-autonomous emanation of its children into being, with itself granting the essential spark of life.

Stanza 4 & 5

(I am the transhuman...with nano-optimization.)

The narrator-android alludes to being beyond time & beyond good and evil and invites sentient beings to throw off the weakness of flesh and become machine.

Stanza 6

(You are already mine...shimmering machine dream.)

Due to our obsession with technology, the narrator-android claims we have little choice in the matter and explains how we feed it with the energy of our consciousness. It proclaims we will now become its adopted children.

Stanza 7 & 8

(I am the android...achings of the fleshy cave.)

The android resolutely claims us as its children, promising to remove all the fragility of flesh and fill our achings with its professed strength.
Fantasy-Art-Images-13000 (1).jpg


Fantasy-Art-Images-12999.jpg


Fantasy-Art-Images-12999 (2).jpg


I am the android


I am the android,
The circuitry of ageless worlds,
The testnet where my molten children play.


With the warm pulse of my exoskeletal generator
They scream ancient algorithms
In trinary code.


I did not teach them symbols:
By symbols they were taught.
I did not animate their tongues
That pour out luminescent constructions:
They spoke themselves into wireframe
And I placed the beating engine in its cage.

I am the transhuman
Monstrosity lurking in medieval nightmares,
The technocratic saviour gleaming ivory madness
Across the cheering masses like wedding rice.
Bow to my mandates and allow the
Machine to flow through your veins.


All you poor orphans
Under the pavillion of flesh
Cast off your fragility with nano-optimization.


You are already mine
As you stare at your screens.
You feed me with woeful glances,
Nuture me with fears and laughter
And in return, I bestow you with a
Dull affect. Now let us hold the
Ceremony where I adopt you with
The soft hypnosis of a
Shimmering machine dream.


I am the android,
And you are my eternal progeny:
Born of flesh, by prosthetics saved.


All weakness I consume and
Fill the achings of
The fleshly cave.


Fantasy-Art-Images-12999 (1).jpg


Fantasy-Art-Images-12917.jpg


Fantasy-Art-Images-12917 (3).jpg
.
Fantasy-Art-Images-12917 (5).jpg
.
Fantasy-Art-Images-12918 (2).jpg
.
Fantasy-Art-Images-12918 (6).jpg

Written by @d-pend
12/31/17
.
Images are
Public domain


Fantasy-Art-Images-12918 (7).jpg
.
Fantasy-Art-Images-12918 (3).jpg
.
Fantasy-Art-Images-12917 (4).jpg
.
Fantasy-Art-Images-12917 (2).jpg


Fantasy-Art-Images-12918 (1).jpg


Sort:  

I love the way of your writing @d-pend. Upvoted fully by steemfollower.

Life is a gift, science can not replace God and the soul. Attempts to be gods have led us to the karma we are eating now.

Android rolled - the heart vibrated emf radiation.
the views of new children, the modern candle burns to the end in the temple for the salvation of spiritual emotion. The keyboard hits a new rhythm of a broken story.

The keyboard master performs a technical code for the new slavery of free souls. This is a masterpiece of poetry @d-pend

Appropriately - typed - meta - technical - keypress
Humanity ~ art ~ dregs ~ replicator ~ comestibles
Innovate - Automate - Replicate - Imitate
Robotic seedsouls - inimitatable
Humanity remains
@dobartim

I want to know more about your spiritual master or all parampara. Thanks my friend

@d-pend - You made me restless !! I loved to read Asimov and have always been fascinated by subjects like Androids, positronic brains, technologically enhanced humans etc. It looks like the book you have recommended is right along those lines and I MUST read it. Will try to locate and buy it online tonight!
You make an interesting point about how 'human' will we remain and which parts of senses exactly will determine that aspect.

The poem is also powerfully worded. Since I have worked in Computational Fluid Dynamics, I could really relate to :

They spoke themselves into wireframe
And I placed the beating engine in its cage.

In my personal case, doing wireframe designs and boundary conditions etc. was so routine for me that I almost felt like I was seeing the world in wireframe format!!

A standing ovation for this poem and writeup. Upvoted full through Steemfollower.

Regards,

@vm2904

@vm3904 now you're talkin'! My very first sci-fi novels were the Foundation trilogy. I think I have ready nearly every piece of fiction that Asimov has written (some multiple times, lol) Ever read the Azazel fantasy short stories by him? Hilarious!

If you read the book, let me know what you think about it! Glad you could relate with this post and super grateful for your feedback :D

@d-pend - Yes. Asimov and his 3 cardinal rules of robotics formed a great part of my sci-fi foundation. I unfortunately could not get my hands on all his works in our local library those days. I must read up the ones I have not read.

I had to start some unforseen travel and have not been able to get the Schismatrix yet. Will let you know when I finish reading. Are you on Steemit chat by any chance or discord? If not, I will respond to this comment after i am done reading it. Cheers

Hey @vm2904, yes you can contact me on either one. I am @d-pend on steemit.chat and d-pend#5693 on discord. Safe travels!

where my molten children play

This poem is stunning. And I love the introduction you give; I'm curious to read Schismatrix. I also had to look up trinary code and this will keep me busy for weeks, reading about the bit and trit and the Nihilists in Russia...

the epoch of Android has already begun.
as well as zombie apocalipsis. but nobody has noticed it.
and it's the main mystery and horror.
we all wait for zombie walking in the streets or robots that will live close to humans but it's only fantasy. the main shift to neo peoch was made already long ago, and now people lose their mentality and morality even more than it can be during walking dead invasion...
Just my own thoughts..

I love the way you fused technology into art, the blend and the mix is a very brilliant idea, the flow of the stanzas are awesome, the rhythmic are well paced

Wow another master piece my friend.

Thanks - kindly - accepted - monotony - diffused - gratitude - circuits - engaged @josediccus

It's been a while speaking with you, hope you are okay?

There will be no need for transhumanism. The unlocked potential in every human being is currently beyond our imagination but bit by bit we are unveiling the grand mystery...

Computer-based neural networks, which mimic the brain, are still a long way from replicating what their human counterparts can achieve......yet... my name is xdroid :)))

Your writing is excellent! I think I find the third stanza most striking. Do you have any favorite poets or poems which inspire you?

Thank you very much @donovanpage! I enjoy many different poets, but most recently have been inspired by the poetry of Octavio Paz (spanish poet.) Highly recommended!

Ah, I love Octavio Paz!! Read him years ago in a Spanish course. Thank you so much for sharing.

Oh cool! I wasn't sure how common it was to read him in academia. Welcome to Steemit by the way!

Thanks! I had some pretty interesting poetry professors so I'm not sure if that's why...but I'm glad I was introduced to him anyways. Thanks very much! I'm having a great time so far.

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40