You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I edit my own work - Plus a story to read too - 1

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This helps, @michelle.gent. I've been struggling with first draft perfection anxiety syndrome. Unless you are able to let go of that first draft and fully give yourself permission to suck-but-move-forward, you're never going to finish anything. So layering one's story becomes crucial. I've read that Scott Adams, a best-selling non-fiction writer and cartoonist goes four about four layers per article written. The fourth layer he calls the "persuasion layer" where he goes in and replaces less persuasive words with more persuasive ones. For instance, if he has two perfectly replaceable synonyms, he goes for the one that sounds funnier to say.

Sort:  

I know all about the perfection thing. It's crippling.

Steemit is helping me to lose that... I'm writing so much on here that I don't have time to nit-pick my serialised story. I'll edit it when I finally send it to the publisher to take a look at :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57286.76
ETH 2998.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26